St. John's Church Records , 1721-1996 – MS027

Provenance: The Papers of St. John’s Church are owned by St. John’s Church and came to the Portsmouth Athenaeum on deposit in 1991. Additional materials were added in 1992 and 2011. Of the papers that came in 1991 some of these papers were returned to the church by the son of Rev. Charles Holbrook in 1947. These records were found by Mr. Holbrook in a barrel in the Manent (or possibly Marsh) House. These were said to include the William Pepperrell letter and correspondence about Rev. Ogden, as well as other records (more information can be found on this in the correspondence of Rev. Robert Dunn in 1947).

Citation: St. John’s Papers, MS027, Portsmouth Athenaeum deposit collection

Size: 13.5 linear feet (21.5 Hollinger Boxes, one oversized box and 17 Phase Boxes)

Dates: 1721-1996

Access: No restrictions

Processed by: Original processing done by Kevin Shupe in 1991 and 1993 with funds from the Rosamond Thaxter Foundation. Original finding aid was revised and new materials processed in 2011-2012 by Susan Stowe Kindstedt.

Scope and Content

The records of St. John’s Church provide an excellent account of church history and activities. The records have been divided into eleven series: Parish and Warden’s Records, Constitutional Records, Correspondence, Real Estate and Property Records, Membership Records, Financial Records, General Church Records, Clubs and Organizations, Church History, Miscellaneous, and Church Bulletins.

The first series, Parish Warden’s Records contains both bound volumes and loose manuscripts. The records make up a majority of the collection and provide details about day to day activities and upkeep of the church property. Amongst the meeting minutes records of ministers coming and going (including the dismissal of Rev. Ogden) and building projects can also be found. The second series, Constitutional Records, is short, but contains vital records about the renaming and reorganizing of Queen’s Chapel and thus the formation of St. John’s Church.

The third series is Correspondence, which includes three subgroups of Wardens’, Treasurers’ and Rectors’ correspondence. The majority of this group is Warden’s correspondence and it mirrors the activities of the Wardens’ Records (above), providing additional information about church activities. There are many letters relating to invitations to new ministers. There are also letters related to the dismissal of Rev. Ogden in 1793 and the resignation of Rev. Armitage in 1854. There are some letters related to the land of Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports (1853-1856) (a missionary organization set up prior to the Revolutionary War with its purpose to spread the Church of England in the colonies). Some of these letters are addressed to Rev. Burroughs, but filed with the Wardens’ correspondence. The Treasurers’ correspondence deals with financial affairs such as property rental, deeds, investments and donations. There are minimal papers belonging to individual ministers, but there are some correspondence for Charles Burroughs and Robert Dunn. Some record of other ministers can be found in the general Wardens’ Records.

The fourth series is Real Estate and Property Records. This group of records contains church deeds as well as deeds for tombs and cemetery plots. There are various survey drawings and one drawing of the church façade. It also contains various contracts related to church renovations and building projects. There are also two early book catalogs in this series, one dated 1738 documents books sent from England and another is a list of Rev. Browne’s library when he died in 1773. There are also a large number of insurance policies for the church, various properties and possessions. There are two other manuscript items, a Bible page ca. 1400 and a piece of the original cloth covering the “George Washington Chair” ca. 1760s.

The fifth series contains Membership Records including church vital records, records of baptism (birth), marriage, and funerals (deaths). There are also records of members in general and confirmations for various time periods. Information associated with the records varies during different time periods, with some offering more complete notes than others. There are a small amount of pew deeds for the early nineteenth century.

The sixth series is Financial Records and is the largest part of the collection. There are account books for both the Warden and the Treasurer (the Treasurer appears to have been more responsible for investments and the Wardens’ for everyday church expenses). Both gave yearly account statements. The bulk of the Financial Records are loose receipts, which are generally grouped in one year increments with the fiscal year running from Easter to Easter. One of the more interesting parts of these records are the frequent account of annual collection and disbursement to the poor (With a list of names of people receiving aid from the church). There are additional records concerning the land once belonging to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports.

The seventh series has been named General Church Records and includes twentieth century volumes titled “Register of Church Services.” These volumes include brief notes recording date of service, numbers in attendance and occasionally other notes as well. Records are very brief. The eighth series contains records of three twentieth century Clubs and Organizations, the Men’s Club, St. John’s Guild and Episcopal Church Women. The ninth series contains general sources on Church History, both notes and published.

The tenth series has been label Miscellaneous but contains some valuable resources to church history including Rev. Charles Burrough’s sermon on the Death of Gov. John Langdon, Rev. James Morss’ discourse on the opening of the new church in 1808, a letter to William Pepperrell from Jonathan Belcher (1721), and correspondence of Rev. Edward Bass, the Bishop of Massachusetts (1782-1785). The final series contains Church Bulletins, loose published pamphlets from the 1880s through the early twentieth century (incomplete run). Twentieth century bulletins were bound starting in the 1940s through 1995.

Processing Note

The Collection was originally processed in 1991. In 2011 additional materials were added to the collection and the original processing and finding aid was revised at this time as well. Much of the order created in 1991 was retained, with the majority of the revision being additional descriptions of materials in each folder and incorporating the newly added materials.

Historical Note

Organized in 1732 as the earliest Episcopal Parish in New Hampshire, the first church was named Queen's Chapel in honor if Queen Caroline of Great Britain. After the Revolution, in 1791, the church dropped the royalist connections and was incorporated at St. John's Church.

The first rector was Rev. Arthur Browne, a missionary from Ireland, who served from 1736 until his death in 1773. Although there is some correspondence about possible successors, the church had no settled clergyman untuil 1786 when Rev. C. Ogden was installed as rector. The congregation was not satisfied with Rev. Ogden and in November 1792 called for his dismissal. The dissatisfaction seems to have stemmed from the suspected authorship of a publication possibly entitled "Situation of Ecclesiatical Affairs in the Neighboring State." He resisted removal but an arrangement in this regard was reached in 1793.

On Christmas Eve 1806 a fire destroyed the church and most of the surrounding part of the town. The parish erected the present church on the same site, first holding services on May 28, 1808. At this same time a rectory was built adjoining the church. Charles H. Burroughs, a recent Master's graduate from Harvard (A.M. 1806) was installed as rector in 1808 although he was not ordained until 1812. He served as pastor until his retirement in 1858. Burroughs was very active in community affairs, among which he was a founder of the Portsmouth Athenaeum, the Portsmouth Lyceum, and the Howard Benevolent Society, and served on the Portsmouth school board and as a director of Philips Exeter Academy and Hampton Academy. During his rectorship the Church underwent extensive renovations, including a new spire and façade. The building was reconsecrated in 1848. A Chapel was built in 1832 which served as a lecture hall. It was furnished with an organ purchased from St. Paul’s Church in Newburyport, Massachusetts. This organ, imported from England in 1708, is still in the church’s possession and is considered the first organ in the United States.

A Sunday School was started in 1817. The church opened another Sunday School for children in the Western part of town in 1878. This school, where monthly services were held, led to the inception of a second Episcopal church called Christ Church, which opened in 1883. Rev. Henry Emerson Hovey, who came to St. John’s in 1883, also held the first rectorship of Christ Church.

St. John’s rectors and parishioners were involved in various community support projects. A collection for the poor was made every Christmas and this supported a bread fund. Rev. Charles Burroughs left money for this fund in his will. The church also distributed a fund left by Miss M. E. Nichels in 1889 providing shoes and clothing for poor children. Organizations connected with St. John’s were instrumental in founding two community institutions which are still in existence. They founded a home for unfortunate children in 1877 and renamed the Chase Home for Children in 1881. They also instigated the establishment of a community hospital called the Cottage Hospital in 1884.

Historical Timeline by Sarah Hamill

1638 First Anglican “chapple” founded in Portsmouth at the corner of Court and Pleasant streets.
1640 Reverend Richard Gibson named first minister.
1732-1734 Queen’s Chapel, a wooden building is erected on the present site of St. John’s. It was named for Queen Caroline, wife of George 11. She gave the new chapel several pieces of communion silver, two mahogany chairs, a bible (possibly the vinegar bible) and prayer books, most of which survived the fire of 1806.
1736 Reverend Arthur Browne installed as rector.
1745 First known burial, of John Bradford, takes place in adjacent cemetery of Queen’s Chapel.
1745 A bell taken at the Battle of Louisbourg in Nova Scotia by Sir William Pepperell is installed at Queen’s Chapel.
1761 Senegal baptismal font from Africa is installed at Queen’s Chapel.
1773 Death of the Reverend Browne.
1780 First parish meeting since l773. There were no ministers during the Revolution.
1786 The Reverend John C. Ogden installed as rector.
1789 On November l President George Washington attends services.
1791 Incorporation of Queen’s Chapel and change of name to St. John’s Church.
1792 Forced resignation of the Reverend Ogden.
1794 Reverend Joseph Willard installed as rector.
1806 On Christmas Eve the church is destroyed by fire.
1806 Trinity Church on Wall Street in New York makes a large donation to the St. John’s Building Fund.
1807 Cornerstone of the new church is laid with the assistance of the Masonic Lodge. Alexander Parris of Portland, Maine is thought to be the architect.
1809 On May 28th the first service is held in the new brick sanctuary. A pipe organ made by Thomas Eliot of London is used.
1806 Reverend Charles Burroughs is installed as rector, but is not ordained until 1812.
1811 First confirmation service in the parish’s history is held.
1817 On July 13 President James Madison attends services at St. John’s. St. John’s forms its first Sunday School.
1832 The Parish chapel is built on State Street.
1836 A pipe organ, originally brought from England in the early 1700s, is purchased from St. Paul’s Church in Newburyport, Massachusetts, and used in the small chapel on State Street. Today it is installed upstairs in the main sanctuary of St. John’s and is known as the Brattle organ.
1848 Painting of “trompe d’oeil” or shadow paintings on walls and ceilings is carried out by Daniel M. Shepard of Salem, Massachusetts.
1848 St. John’s Church is reconsecrated after many renovations, under the leadership of the Reverend Charles Burroughs.
1858 Reverend William A Hitchcock is installed as rector.
1858 Two chimneys are installed for the church’s first heating system.
1862 Reverend Thomas F. Davies is installed as rector.
1862 Gas lighting is installed in the church.
1867 Box pews removed. “Circular” pews installed.
1868 Reverend Rufus W. Clark is installed as rector.
1871 Reverend Joel Foote Bingham is installed as rector.
1876 Reverend Charles A. Holbrook is installed as rector
1881-1883 Christ Church is built on Madison Street.
1883 Reverend Henry Emerson Hovey is installed as rector of both St. John’s and Christ Church. Christ Church had been started earlier as a Sunday School.
1883 St. John’s Guild founded.
1884 Chase Children’s Home established under patronage of St. John’s. The parish also supported founding of a community hospital later to become Portsmouth Cottage Hospital.
1885 The first stained glass window is installed. Six more were added over the next 70 years.
1894 Extensive building renovation.
1897 Tower and walls repaired.
1902 Diocesan centennial convention held at St. John’s, the “mother church” of the Diocese of New Hampshire
1910 Reverend Harold M. Folsom is installed as rector.
1915 Reverend Welles M. Partridge is installed as rector. Estey organ is built in the church.
1916 Reverend Nelson Kellogg is installed as rector.
1925 Reverend Maxwell Ganter is installed as rector.
1942 Reverend Robert Hayes Dunn is installed as rector.
1953 The parish house is built.
1960 Reverend William Charles Hodgins is installed as rector. The electronic Allen organ is installed to replace the Estey organ.
1963 Christ Church on Madison Street burns. It is rebuilt in 1966 on Lafayette Road.
1965 Restoration of Brattle organ.
1969 New sacristy built. Chancel area enlarged. Organ and choir are moved from the chancel to the balcony.
1970 Vinegar bible is stolen from the church. It is retrieved later in the year.
1974 Reverend Hodgins retires and is named Rector Emeritus
1975 Reverend Gordon Allen is installed as rector.
1978 St. John’s is accepted into National Register of Historic Places.
1996 Reverend Timothy Rich is installed as rector.
1999 Orgues Letourneau Ltd.of Canada is commissioned to handcraft a 2,425-pipe organ.
2000 Reverend Ann Stevenson is installed as associate rector and becomes the first female priest in St. John’s history.
2000 “Common Table” weekly lunch program starts with 13 volunteers.
2001 Restoration of stained glass windows.
2001 Installation of Letourneau pipe organ. September, 2001 Reverend Timothy Rich and Reverend Ann Stevenson join hundreds of parishioners and friends to bless and dedicate the organ.
2002 New altar, facing the people, is installed and dedicated.
2002 Reverend Richard Siener, D.D, is installed as assisting priest.
2003 Abbey Hallberg Siegfried becomes music director.
2003 Susan Garrity is installed as associate rector, and is ordained later in the year.
2005 Reverend Robert Stevens is installed as rector.
2008 Reverend Jeffrey Thornberg is installed as curate, but is not ordained until 2009.
2011 Reverend Jeffrey Thornberg is named associate rector.

Bibliography:
Annals of Portsmouth by Nathaniel Adams.
Memoirs of Charles Burroughs by Andrew P. Peabody
Living the Gospel by Paul Peter Jesep
Old St. John’s by Franklin Ware Davis
St. John’s Church – A visitor’s guidebook
Old St. John’s at Portsmouth and her distinguished flock by Robert Hayes Dunn
On Church Hill by Robert McLaughlin
History of St. John’s Church, 1896, author unknown

Series List

I. Parish and Warden’s Records

A. Bound Volumes
B. Manuscripts (loose)

II. Constitutional Records
III. Correspondence

A. Warden’s Correspondence
B. Treasurer’s Correspondence
C. Rector’s Correspondence

1. Rev. Charles Burroughs
2. Rev. Robert Dunn

IV. Real Estate and Property Records
V. Membership Records
VI. Financial Records

A. Warden’s Account Books
B. Treasurer’s Records
C. Bills and Receipts

VII. General Church Records
VIII. Clubs and Organizations

A. Men’s Club
B. St. John’s Guild
C. Episcopal Church Women

IX. Church History
X. Miscellaneous
XI. Church Bulletins

Folder Listing

I. Parish and Warden’s Records

The Parish and Warden’s Record Books document the history of the church through church meeting minutes. The minutes document ministers coming and going, church maintenance and improvements, selling of land and investments, donations and memorials. Financial reports are frequently (but not always) included as are reports of the Sunday School, choir and various clubs. The notes provided for volumes below are not a complete index of the volume, but rather provide a good representation of the type of information included and/or highlight major events in the history of the church. They should be used as a guide, but are not a complete replacement for examining the original documents.

A. Bound Volumes

Phase Box 1 Record Book and Index, 1755-1816

Index in front provides names and topics (such as by laws, burials, repairs, etc.) found in the volume. Frequently entries pertain to transfer of pews. There are frequent (often yearly) list of members and tax assessments.

1755 January 6 List of individuals contributing money (subscriptions) to the “finishing the Alter piece & painting the inside of the Queen’s Chapel...”
1761 Alterations made to pews in gallery and over south door
1773 Death of Rev. Brown and search for replacement minister
[Gap in records from 1773-1780]
1780 Hiring Mr. Adams
1784 Letter regarding Rev. Doctor Mather Byles working as Chaplain to the Garrison at Halifax and not coming to Portsmouth as a parish missionary
1785 John Bowden will not be coming to the parish in Portsmouth
1785 Rev. John Graves will not settle as minister in Portsmouth “considering his advanced age” and the Portsmouth parish “consists primarily of young people”
1791 Name changed from Queen’s Chapel to St. John’s
1792 Resignation of Rev. Ogden
1796 Sale of land in Barrington
1799 “Act of Incorporation” changing name from Queen’s Chapel to St. John’s church
1800, 1804 Agents appointed to “sue for the land belonging to the Church in the possession of Woodbury Langdon
1803 Construction of a new wall around the church grounds, extending the existing Bow Street wall, possible purchase of land on Chapel Street
1806 Committee formed to consider building a new house for the minister
1806 (page 302) List of individuals purchasing subscriptions in support of the new church building
1807Considering building a new “chapel on the same lot of land where their chapel which was lately destroyed by fire stood...”
1807 “...the members of [St. John’s Church] will convene for public worship at the South Meeting House in compliance of an invitation from the Wardens of said Parish until a new church shall be erected.”
1807 Deed information for land from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports
1808 Sale of lands owned by the church from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports
1810 Charles Burrough’s acceptance letter
1816 “Voted that the Wardens...be hereby authorized to lot out and sell the cellar under the church...for tombs.”

Phase Box 2 Record Book with index, 1755-1872 [Handwritten Transcript of original books]

Inscription in front cover: “This Book belongs to the subscriber, having been copied for him and at his expense from the original Record of Queen’s Chapel and St. John’s Church by John W. Fernald Esq. the Parish Clerk, as appear by his certificate on the 303 page., September A. D. 1856.

Box 1

Folder 1 Record Book and Index, 1817-1857

Parish meeting notifications and minutes, election of officers, collection of pew taxes, etc. Beginning in 1827 included with the meeting minutes is a list of Property owned by the church and accounts held with the church (money owed to) with interest.

1818 “...To take into consideration the expediency of establishing a Sunday School and to devise ways and means for forming a choir of singers...”
1820 Property left to the church by Cornelius John Kirby; property given to the church by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports
1828-1830 Further discussion of the land from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel
1830 Bequest of James Sheafe
1833 Gift of Sheafe land by John Fisher Sheafe of New York
1834 Sale of land left by Cornelius John Kirby in Barnstead, NH
1836 “That the Wardens by authorized to advertise and sell the parsonage house.”
1836 Resolution on the death of Rev. William White, Bishop of the Diocese of Pennsylvania
1842 Resolution on the death of Alexander Griswold, Bishop of the Eastern Diocese
1843 Paying debt for costs incurred remodeling the North Gallery
1846 “That this Church accept the loan of four hundred dollars of Mrs. Mary Rider on the terms offered for the repair of the interior of the church...”
1847 Account of improvements needed to the interior of the church, with estimates of cost
1848 Sale of church property and real estate
1849 Sale of church land in Grafton and Coos counties
1851 Transcript of a deed documenting the sale of the “vault under the vestry room so called in the south east corner of St. John’s church, and south of the alter...” by Hiram Cutts and Eunice Cutts of Illinois to George M. Marsh of Portsmouth
1857 Repairs made to the church spire
1857 Sale of church land in Hanover or Lebanon

Folder 2 Record Book, 1857-1909

Parish meeting notifications and minutes, election of officers, collection of pew taxes, etc. Includes financial account of the Wardens, which is often records of building maintenance. Entries become more brief as the volume progresses.

1857 Resignation letter of Rev. Charles Burroughs
1858 Financial accounting of repairs made to steeple
1858 Vote to call Rev. William A. Hitchcock as new minister and his acceptance letter
1858 Resolution on the leaving of Rev. Burroughs
1859 Repairs made to burying ground wall, fence added (paid for by John Fisher Sheafe of New York) and tombs labeled with names, list on page 37
1859 Sale of the house on High Street
1858 Construction of new chimneys on the east end of the church
1859-60 Hand drawn “Plan of Property belonging to St. John’s Church” on page 46 includes names of individual burial plots and tombs, location of church building and parsonage house
1861 Letter of resignation of Rev. Hitchcock
1861 Invitation to Thomas F. Davies to be minister and his declining the position because he already has a trip planned to Europe, a later letter accepts to position to begin in the Spring following his trip
1862 Converting the former Rymes family tomb on Bow Street to a receiving tomb for the winter months
1862 Alterations made to the church interior regarding the pulpit and reading desk
1863 Committee formed to improve conditions of Sunday School, possibly to purchase land for a new building
1863 Extracts from the will of Mary Rider in regard to donations to St. John’s
1867 Replacement and relocation of pews, new pews were then sold at auction, includes a list of pew owners
1871 Invitation to the Rev. Bingham
1874 Letter from Bingham concerning “a rumor concerning my expectation of soon leaving the Parish...”
1878 Lengthy letter concerning disputed land in northern New Hampshire believed to belong to St. John’s Church, formerly granted to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports
1882 Wardens call for the resignation of Rev. Charles A. Holbrook
1882 “...that the Bishop appoint Mr. Hovey as minister in charge of Church (Christ’s) as a missionary church.”
1904 Condition of the rental of property on State Street

Folder 3 Record Book, 1910-1945

Parish meeting minutes, including election of officers. Early dates no longer include detailed financial accounting as in previous volumes, but there is a financial summary and occasional mentions of financial matters such as trust funds, debt and disposal of real estate. Meetings are now held monthly and notes are brief. Beginning in 1918, printed treasurer’s reports are often pasted in the pages, later dates return to hand written reports.

1910 Repairs needed to the rectory on Chapel Street
1910 Death of Rev. Hovey, invitation made to Harold M. Folsom to be minister
1909 Rev. Richard D. Pope declining position as minister at St. John’s
1910 Detailed job description of positions within the church including Warden and Vestryman
1910 Resolution on the death of Charles Carroll Hall, warden
1911 Pearson memorial window
1912 Replacement of organ discussed, including a proposed donation of $3000 by the Larkin’s for a new organ
1913 Acceptance of Brattle Organ
1914 Resolution on the death of William Woodruff Niles, late Bishop of the Diocese of New Hampshire
1916 Acceptance of Rev. Nelson Kellogg as new minister
1917 “...that the chapel be used as a Parish house, memorials to be removed to the Church & the alter to be enclosed...”
1917 “...that the Warden’s be instructed to get cost to have electric lights put in the church.”
1922 “It was moved and seconded that Mrs. John E. Locke be thanked for the letter containing the original schedule of lumber for the building of St. John’s Church...”
1922 Church in need of a new roof
1922 “...that water be placed in the north sacricy of the church if feasible...”
1923 Thomas Entwistle memorial window
1923 “A communication was read from the First Church of Christ, Scientist of Portsmouth N.H. stating that they wished to purchase St. John’s Parish House on State St. and offering $4000 for the same...it was unanimously voted that the Parish House was not for sale or lease...”
1924 Church broken into and silver stolen
1924 Gift of a painting given by Mary Gertrude Thaxter
1925 Resignation of Rev. Nelson Kellogg
1925 Invitation to Maxwell Ganter to be minister
1928 Christie Memorial
1930 Remey Memorial Lamp
1930 Detailed report of Sunday School, number of pupils, etc.
1931 Early church records had been leant to the New Hampshire Historical Society to be copied
1932 Petition from members regarding “removal of any original furniture especially the alter and also the sale of the Queen Caroline service...”
1932 Early history of the church by Edwin L. Page given at the 200th anniversary of birth of George Washington and building of Queen’s Chapel
1933 Repair of Brattle Organ
1941 “Father Ganter expressed the hope that St. John’s continue its work at the Naval Prison and recommended a continuation of Communion Service on Christmas and Easter...”
1941 Voted to make a formal call to Rev. Robert Dunn

Box 2

Folder 1 Record Book, 1945-1958

Meeting minutes including election of officers and focus primarily on basic building maintenance and upkeep.

1945 Installation of a new heating system
1945 Legacy gift from the estate of Woodbury Langdon from Elizabeth Elwyn Langdon
1945 Construction of a new alter discussed
1947 Steeple is in need of repair
1947 Church services to be broadcasted on WHEB
1948 Resolution on the death of Charles H. Batchelder, treasurer
1948 Resolution on the death of Benjamin W. Burke, vestryman
1948 Repairs needed at house located at 93 Chapel Street
1949 “Voted that the church shall dispose of the property at 93 Chapel Street at no expense to the Parish if possible.”
1950 Building Committee report on meeting with architect Arland Dirlam concerning plans for a new Parish House
1950 Organ maintenance contract
1950 Report on the building fund in light of “a substantial change in the economic conditions of this country.”
1950 Repair of plaster in church
1952 Offer to purchase St. John’s parish house
1953 Purchase of 903 Middle Street
1953 Contract for the demolition of the old rectory on Chapel Street
1953 Plans to begin construction on the first floor of the new Parish House
1954 Discussion to begin work on the second floor of the new Parish House
1956 “It was voted that the hall in the new Parish House be named Thaxter Hall in memory of the Thaxter Family.”
1958 Proposal to replace the Brattle organ with an Austin Organ from the Unitarian Church in Concord

Folder 2 Vestry Minutes, 1959-1973

Record of monthly meetings including election of officers, a list of presenters (Guild Auxiliary, Altar Guild, Choir Mothers, Church School, Boy Scouts, St. Martha’s Guild, etc.). Most meetings center around church building maintenance and improvements. There is frequent mention of insurance policies and investments.

1960 “Crisis occasioned by the illness of Father [Robert] Dunn.”
1960 “Resolution on the Death of Reverend Robert H. Dunn” on page 24.
1960 “Rector’s Committee” concerning the search for a new minister and the sale of the old Rectory and the purchase of a new home to be used by the new minister
1960 Home at 60 Pinehurst Road was purchased for the new minister, Rev. W. Charles Hodgins. Later meetings discuss his salary and benefits. Later meetings centered around church building maintenance and improvements.
1961 Church makes an offer to purchase the property across the street from the Parish Hall
1961 Bequest of money from the Harding Estate.
1962 Possible purchase of property at 72-80 Bow Street, board voted not to purchase the property
1962 Board voted to demolish the property they had purchased at 85 Chapel Street. The property would be part of the Parish’s expansion plan. There is also discussion about heating the Sunday School classrooms.
1963 Church use of the property at 100 Chapel Street, following the tenants moving out
1963 Opposition to the proposed new Federal Building in Portsmouth because of “its adverse impact on the use of our church properties”
1964 Restoration of the Brattle Organ
1965 “...it was candidly agreed that the Vestry should show a deeper concern for and a greater interest in things spiritual...”
1965 Overseas missionary possibilities are discussed
1966 Church property at 122 Chapel St. was not suitable for use as a thrift store as proposed and should instead be demolished immediately
1967 Supporting a church in Africa
1968 Possible alterations to the chancel area of the church
1968 Proposal for a new sacristy
1968 Considering the purchase of the Badger Farms Creamery property on Bow Street
1970 Vinegar Bible stolen and returned to St. John’s Church, the note left in the Bible on its return is taped to the minutes page

Box 3

Folder 1 Vestry Minutes, 1973-1989

Record of monthly meetings including election of officers, a list of presenters (Guild Auxiliary, Altar Guild, Choir Mothers, Church School, Boy Scouts, St. Martha’s Guild, etc.). Most meetings center around church building maintenance and improvements. There is frequent mention of insurance policies and investments.

Phase Box 16 Parish Meeting Minutes, 1989-1996 (many pages are loose typed documents)

B. Manuscripts (loose)

Box 3

Folder 2 Parish and Wardens’ Meeting Notes, 1761-1833

Notes regarding swearing in of new wardens, vote returns, and announcements concerning votes taken at meetings. Note: Descriptions for each folder are not a complete list of documents in the folder, but rather a summary of important or representative documents, beyond the frequent documents related to calling annual meetings, etc.

1792 April 23 Dissatisfaction with Rev. Ogden
1792 November 10 Decision to fire Rev. Ogden
1793 April 2 Donations taken by list of individuals to make final salary payment to Rev. Ogden provided “his giving a full discharge of all demands upon the parish.”
1794 April 26 Vote to call Rev. Charles Seabury as minister
1797 April 11 Notice from the town of Portsmouth stating that St. John’s must discontinue the use of the church yard and tombs for burials because it is “dangerous to the health of the inhabitants.”
1807 Transfer of land by deed to St. John’s Church from Simon Alcott, Ambrose Cossett, Asa Porter and Nathaniel Adams
1826 Statement regarding a mortgage held by St. John’s on a property of the widow Mary Ham

Folder 3 Parish and Warden’s Meeting Notes, 1836-1884

Notes regarding swearing in of new wardens, vote returns, and announcements concerning votes taken at meetings. Note: Descriptions for each folder are not a complete list of documents in the folder, but rather a summary of important or representative documents, beyond the frequent documents related to calling annual meetings, etc.

1837 March 27 Statement regarding the salary of Rev. Burroughs and his use of the parish house
1843 February Resolution on the death of Bishop Griswold
1860 April 6 Statement regarding improvements made to the burial ground tombs (including claiming the abandoned Rymes family tomb), repair of the organ, sale of the High Street house, repairs to parsonage house, reduction of church debt, and replacement of the spire.

Folder 4 Meeting Notices, 1770-1821

Notices of parish meetings with a brief summary of meeting agenda, typically the election of officers and money expenditures.

1770 Organ repair, an assistant for Mr. Brown

Oversize Box 7 Folder 14 Meeting Notice, 1809

Folder 5 Meeting Notices, 1822-1834

Notices of parish meetings with a brief summary of meeting agenda, typically the election of officers and money expenditures.

1824 “To authorize the wardens to give a deed to the farm devised by Cornelius J. Kirby to St. John’s Church.”
1830 Disposal of land from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports in Coos and Strafford counties
1834 Sale of Kirby farm in Barnstead to William Wallace

Folder 6 Meeting Notices, 1835-1849

Notices of parish meetings with a brief summary of meeting agenda, typically the election of officers and money expenditures.

1836 Sale of the parsonage house, sale and alteration of pews
1846 “To see if the church will authorize individuals to build tombs in the cellar of the church.”
1847 Sale of “wild lands” belonging to the church

Folder 7 Meeting Notices, 1851-1861

Notices of parish meetings with a brief summary of meeting agenda, typically the election of officers and money expenditures.

1855 Sale of house on High Street
1857 Sale of lands in Hanover for the benefit of St. Thomas’ Church, repairs needed to Church spire
1859 Repairs to burial ground wall
1860 Removal of pulpit and installation of reading desk, installation of gas in church, two wardens instead of one

Folder 8 Meeting Notices, 1863-1881

Notices of parish meetings with a brief summary of meeting agenda, typically the election of officers and money expenditures.

1863 Improving Sunday School accommodations, rearranging pews in the gallery, installation of gas lights and ventilation
1868 Resignation of Rev. T. F. Davies, improvements to the Chapel

II. Constitutional Records

The Constitutional Records hold key documents in the legal establishment of St. John’s Church, including the Act of Incorporation dated 1791 and twentieth century revisions to the original Bylaws.

Box 3

Folder 9 Act of Incorporation, 1791 [3 copies]

Folder 10 Act of Incorporation (Copy) and Funds Inventory, 1880

Folder 11 Bylaws, ca. 1945

Folder 12 Bylaws Revision, Legal Report, 1944

III. Correspondence

Correspondence is broken down into three subgroups, Wardens’ Correspondence, Treasurers’ Correspondence, and Rectors’ Correspondence. The majority of the correspondence of the Church Wardens (Wardens were laypeople on a board governing the church) date from 1772 through 1883, with a few gaps in years. The earliest letter is dated 1735 and is the pastorate invitation to Rev. Arthur Brown. The Treasurers’ correspondence primarily dates from 1828 to 1886. The Rectors’ (or ministers) correspondence includes Charles Burroughs (letters dated from 1831 to 1848) and Robert Dunn (letters dated from 1942 to 1954). Folder lists of letters are provided below for the Wardens’ and the Rectors’ correspondence.

A. Wardens’ Correspondence

Box 3

Folder 13
1735 August 18 Pastorate Invitation to Rev. Arthur Browne

Folder 14

1772 September Wardens’ correspondence with Gov. John Wentworth regarding Rev. Murray

Folder 15

1773 July 2 Letter to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports regarding the death of Arthur Brown and the parish’s need for a new pastor. “...as the Chapel is seated in the Metropolis of this Province and the only established church settled in it at present...”

1773 July 12 Circular letter to neighboring churches inviting their minister’s to preach in Portsmouth, while Portsmouth is without a settled minister.

Folder 16

1784 July 14 Letter to Rev. Mather Byles, who had been assigned as minister to Queen’s Chapel but had not come to his post. “We apprehend there is no danger of an Obstruction to your immediately coming to and residing in Portsmouth in consequence of the Revolution of Government in America...” A note at the end of the letter dated August 30, 1784 states that Rev. Byles had still not been heard from. [2 copies]

1784 October 18 Letter from John Bowden of Jamaica, who is unable to accept the invitation to be minister in Portsmouth as he has just committed to a position in Norwalk, Connecticut

1784 October 26 Letter from Rev. Samuel Parker, regarding the continued search for a minister in Portsmouth. “I am of the opinion that you will be disappointed in your hopes of continuance of assistance from the Society...It seems to be the prevailing sentiment that the society will continue their bounty to their present missionaries in the United States but nor grant any new or renew any old Missions...” He also mentions convention in New York that seeks to unify the Episcopal Church of the United States.

1784 December 12 Letter to John Bowden of Norwalk, Connecticut, leaving invitation open for Bowden to come to Portsmouth should he change his mind about his appointment in Norwalk, also discusses confirmation the Mather Byles is now a Chaplain at the Garrison in Halifax.

1785 January 31 Letter from John Bowden of Norwalk, Connecticut, speaks of the “despair” at the Church in Norwalk and his hope that it will be “restored, to the flourishing state it was before the late War.” Declines the position in Portsmouth.

1785 March 28 Letter from Rev. John Graves, regarding the possibility of his coming to Portsmouth

1785 May 30 Letter from Mather Byles, informs the parish that the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports is no longer supporting the salaries of any missionaries “residing without the limits of the British Dominion.”

1785 September 28 Letter to Mather Byles, “...we were apprehensive that the separation from the Mother Country might be some bar to the continuance of the Society [for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports]...” continued frustration that Portsmouth is without a minister.

1785 October 17 Letter to the Senate and House of the State of New Hampshire, requesting permission to sell the pews of delinquent tax payers.

1786 August 3 Letter to John Bowden, regarding whether or not Bowden would reconsider invitation again per rumor that the church in Norwalk “have not made a competent provision for the support of yourself and family...”

1786 October 5 Letter from Samuel Parker, includes a transcript of a letter from Rev. John Bowden who once again turns down the position in Portsmouth but recommends Mr. Clark who is studying with him and may be a good fit for Portsmouth, although he is young.

1786 November 6 Letter from Samuel Parker, recommends Rev. John Ogden.

Folder 17

1791 August 22 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, “our collection has been so small lately, that I have been obliged to incur some debts...” he suggests discounting the pew of Mr. Dearborn, whom he owes for schooling his children.

1792 May 5 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, regarding his desire to attend the state convention

1792 November 20 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, resignation based on the church’s inability to pay his salary

1792 November 22 Letter Audain [sp?], offering to take a temporary minister position in Portsmouth prior to his departure to the West Indies

1792 November 23 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, requesting repayment for his expenses in moving to Portsmouth and unpaid salary

Folder 18

1793 January 26 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, defending “Liberty of the Press.”

1793 January 29 Letter from John C. Ogden, requesting that the church “draw the veil of charity over my imperfections and remember the divine prospects of forgiveness...”

1793 February 5 Letter from John C. Ogden, states that he is still technically “rector of St. John’s Church” and accuses the Warden’s “...your proceedings are unprecedented. – They are also illegal...Your doings are also irregular, as you have attempted to draw confessions from me, which you have no right to ask...”

1793 February 18 Letter from Rev. Walter, offers to mediate between the congregation and Rev. Ogden

1793 February 24 Letter from Samuel Parker, regarding the disagreement with Rev. Ogden and his unwillingness to supply the church with a new pastor until the matter had been resolved.

1793 February 27 Letter from Rev. Walter, regarding coming to Portsmouth

1793 March (Easter Monday) Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, requesting money owed again

1793 March 22 Letter to Rev. John C. Ogden, Rev. Oliver will be officiating at the church for Easter, “Col. Wentworth may choose” the minister for Miss Gilmore’s funeral, “Mr. Ogden cannot be admitted to officiate in the Church tomorrow or Easter Sunday.”

1793 March 23 Note from Rev. John C. Ogden, officiating at the funeral of Miss Gilmore

1793 April 29 Letter from Rev. John C. Ogden, insulted by the low offer made by the church towards the amount he claims to be owed.

1793 May 18 Letter from Rev. W. Harris, cannot immediately accept the invitation to come to Portsmouth

1793 September 23 Letter to Rev. Bishop Seabury of New London, Connecticut, search for a new minister, “a young gentleman would be preferred.”

1793 November 4 Letter to Rev. Bishop Seabury of New London, Connecticut, search for a new minister, Rev. Seabury’s son will be visiting (Charles Seabury)

Folder 19

1794 April 28 Letter to Rev. William Smith, invitation to visit Portsmouth

1794 May 5 Letter from William Smith, agreeing to visit Portsmouth

1794 May 14 Letter to Rev. Samuel Seabury, search for a new minister

1794 May 26 Letter from William Smith, inability to keep planned visit to Portsmouth

1794 July 21 Letter from Rev. Walter, invitation to visit Portsmouth

Folder 20

1801 January 5 Letter from Thomas Dickason, regarding a letter received

1801 April 5 Letter from Margaret Furniss, inability to pay additional assessment

1801 June 5 Letter from Thomas Dickason, regarding a letter sent

1801 June 11 Letter from Thomas Dickason, regarding money owed

1801 August 11 Letter from Thomas Dickason, regarding money owed

1804 February 11 Notice to parishioners about over due taxes [2 copies]

Folder 21

1806 June 5 Notice regarding the resignation of William Smith, Principal of the Episcopal Academy of Connecticut

1807 May 4 Letter from Wharton and Lewis of Philadelphia, repairs to the organ

1807 July 29 Printed notice about the “sentence of degradation” against Martin Luther Haynie

1807 August 4 Letter to Josiah Adams, register of deeds

1807 August 27 Letter from James Sheafe, regarding J. Langdon

1807 August 31 Letter from James Sheafe, “compromise with W. Langdon”

1807 September 15 Letter from Nathaniel Adams, regarding Society for the Propagation of the Gospel land deeds

1807 ca. Unknown author, regarding claim of church land

1807 ca. Letter from Isaac Stanwood, regarding the organ

1808 May 14 Letter from James Morse, accepting the invitation to preach on the first day in the new church building

1808 June 13 Letter to Asa Eaton, mentions Mr. Burroughs

1808 June 16 Letter from Asa Eaton, mentions Mr. Burroughs

1808 December 26 Letter from Joshua Wentworth, letter of thanks

Folder 22

1809 March 27 Letter from Amos Tappan, lack of payment for reading the services

1809 May Letter from Ezekiel Whitman, collection for W. Alexander Parris

1809 June 21 Letter from John Mann, payment of rent on lot

1809 June 26 Letter from William Boyd, application for use of the church

1809 June 28 Letter from Nathan B. Burgess of Glastonbury, Connecticut, inquiry about vacant rector position

1810 January 19 Letter from James Sheafe to Gardner, unpaid taxes [?]

1810 December 20 Letter from James Sheafe, regarding money

1810 December 24 Letter from J. Hales, A. Clountman’s [sp?] note

1811 July 16 Letter from Jonathan Warner, regarding a tomb

1811 September 9 Letter from Jonathan Warner, regarding constructing a tomb (with petition signatures in support)

1814 June 17 Letter from James Kemp of Maryland, regarding a position to be filled and signatures requested in support [3 associated letters]

1814 August 26 Letter from D. Waldron, requesting that his pew not be sold, he will be down [from Dover] to pay the tax

Box 4

Folder 1 Warden’s Correspondence, 1818-1830

1818 March 23 Letter from William Gardner, resignation [?] as vestryman

1818 April 22 Letter from Gardner Greene, donation of money

1820 August 18 Letter from Samuel Ambrose, valuation of land in Sandwich formerly belonging the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel

1820 September 1 Letter from Asa Freeman, deed from Grant to Kirby

1823 March 31 Letter from W. Peirce, declining the position as warden

1823 September 20 Letter from B. Hodgdon, Barnstead reference

1824 June 10 Letter from Peter Coffin, repairs to the copper roof

1824 July 3 Letter from Peter Coffin, order of copper

1828 May 30 Letter from Caroline Sherburne, application to be organist

1829 June 25 Letter from A. Schaffer (organist), request that money owed her be paid

1830 June 17 Letter to A. Fisher Sheafe, donation of his brother [2 associated letters]

Folder 2 Warden’s Correspondence, 1831-1839

1831 March 29 Letter from A. F. Sheafe, bequest of his brother, James Edward Sheafe [2 associated letters]

1831 April 4 Letter from John Rice, music at the Church

1831 April 4 Letter from William F. Lawrence, concerning an organist

1831 April 6 Letter from William F. Lawrence, recommending himself and his wife as organist

1832 April 23 Letter from William F. Lawrence, requesting a salary for musical services

1832 June 21 Letter from Daniel Blaisdell, payment of assessment

1833 December 5 Letter from Samuel Hooper, salary as organist has been “incompetent”

1836 October 17 Letter from James C. Dunn, collection of funds

1836 October 26 Letter to James C. Dunn, collection of funds for the convention

1836 ca. Letter from John Rice, regarding William March as warden

1837 March 27 Notice that a pew would be sold at auction

1837 October 24 Notice regarding a convention to select a new bishop

1839 March 20 Letter from Albe Cady, requesting aid to build a church in Concord

1839 April 1 Letter from S. L. Gordon, informing that the ladies of the choir will be leaving and funds will be needed for new singers and organist

Folder 3 Warden’s Correspondence, 1840-1854

1840 April 26 Letter from Joshua W. Pines, declining position as warden

1840 May 27 Letter from Dr. L. V. Bells (McLean Asylum, Charlestown) to George W. Marsh, instruction for caring for Mr. Elliot’s wounded feet

1841 March 17 Letter from M. W. Pierce, resigning as treasurer

1843 May Letter to George H. Marsh

1843 April 22 Letter from Mahalah Clapham, accepting invitation to sing at church

1843 December 27 Letter from George M. Marsh, regarding resolutions at a recent meeting

1844 April 12 Letter from Mahalah Clapham, accepting invitation to be part of church orchestra

1845 ca. Letter from Mahalah Clapham, accepting invitation to be part of church orchestra

1846 July 21 Letter from the Selectmen of Nantucket, Massachusetts, soliciting aid following a devastating fire

1849 March 19 Letter from Nathan Tilton, regarding the Rocke family genealogy

1849 October 24 Letter from Alexander Ladd to John McClintock, William Haven, Samuel Sheafe, William Jones, Alfred W. Haven, Ichabod Rollins, Joshua W. Peirce, George Marsh, James Kennard, Thomas Tredick, Harry L. Richards, and John J. Pickering, regarding a meeting to discuss French Spoliation Claims prior to 1800

1851 April Letter from Mary Hardy, unable to pay pew tax

1851 May 26 Letter from James P. Bartlett, wants to secure a pew (two related letters)

1851 [unable to determine name], regarding a pew

1852 March 19 Letter from Levi Woodbury, regarding the papers of his brother Luke Woodbury

1853 February 8 Letter from Albert R. Hatch

1853 ca. Letter and excerpts from meetings concerning William E. Armitage’s position as assistant rector

Folder 4 Warden’s Correspondence, 1853-1856

Letters concern the disposition of New Hampshire church lands, including the land formerly owned by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports.

Folder 5 Warden’s Correspondence, 1858-1861

1858 May 12 Letter to Carlton Chan of Claremont, New Hampshire, regarding Mr. Hitchcock taking position as pastor

1859 August 19 Letter to Albert Maxwell, notice to leave the church property on High Street

1860 April 21 Letter to William Rand, regarding parish Wardens and financial records

1861 August 9 Letter regarding raising funds for the Ladies Volunteer Aid Society for the soldiers serving in the Civil War

1861 August 10 Letter from William A. Hitchcock, does not want church collection for the Ladies Volunteer Aid Society

1861 August 16 Letter from William A. Hitchcock, [similar to previous]

1861 August 23 Letter from William A. Hitchcock, regarding his salary

1861 October 22 Letter from J. R. Peirce, officiating at St. John’s

1861 October Letter from B. F. DeCosta, minister has left St. John’s

1861 November 1 Letter from William A. Hitchcock, thanks for continuing salary after resignation

1861 November 18 Letter from J. R. Peirce, accepting invitation

1862 February 8 Letter from J. Dixon Carter, regarding the Domestic Missionary Committee

1862 April 28 Letter from Carlton Chase, regarding the election of Thomas F. Davies as new rector

1862 May 10 Letter from J. P. S. Ottersen, declining the offer of the pulpit from St. John’s Church for the new church in Nashua

1862 November 8 Letter from Francis Chase, thanks for contribution to Diocesan Missions

1866 May 28 Letter from N. T. Sheafe, regarding overdue pew tax

1866 June 4 Letter from Marcia S. Hardy for the heirs of Stephen Hardy, pew to be given to church

Folder 6 Warden’s Correspondence, 1867-1874

1867 April 20 Letter from Edwin A. Tilton, he is not interested in being organist for the next year

1867 June 21 Letter from James S. Rand, offering the North Church for services during renovations at St. John’s

1868 March 4 Letter from Thomas F. Davies, resignation as pastor

1868 March 12 Letter from Carlton Chase of Claremont, NH, resignation of Mr. Davies

1868 May 20 Parochial Report for 1868, summary of membership, Sunday School, etc.

1868 October 21 Letter from Albert Hatch

1868 October 21 Letter to abutters of Chapel Property regarding new church building being built and how it will impact their property

1868 October 21 Letter from Richard Jenness, regarding Chapel construction [2 related letters]

1868 November 19 Letter from Albert Hatch [included two documents], related to raising the salary of the Bishop

1874 May 18 Letter from W. H. A. Bissell, regarding false charges made against St. John’s rector

Folder 7 Warden’s Correspondence, 1881-1882 July

1881 March 10 Petition related to the salary of the rector

1882 May 17 Letter from Robert C. Peirce, resigning as treasurer

1882 June 26 Letter from C. J. Cleborne MD, regarding the health of Rev. Charles A. Holbrook

1882 July 3 Letter from Bishop ?, regarding the resignation of Rev. Charles A. Holbrook

1882 July 7 Letter from H. M. Upham, recommendation for Rev. William J. Harris

1882 July 8 Letter from Alfred Elwyn, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 10 Letter from George H. Buck, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 11 Letter from Charles A. Holbrook, thanks to church for kindness

1882 July 11 Letter from J. R. Peirce, cannot officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 12 Letter from Howard Hill, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 13 Letter from Mary M. May, sending check

1882 July 13 Letter from William Harris, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 14 Letter from Rufus W. Clark, would like to return to Portsmouth to be rector of St. John’s

1882 June 19 Letter from John Wendell, regarding collection of pew tax

1882 July 21 Letter from W. W. Niles, regarding the resignation of rector

1882 July 21 Letter from Rufus W. Clark, desire to return to St. John’s

1882 July 21 Letter from Charles L. Hutchins, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 July 31 Letter from J. E. Johnson, recommending Rev. T. J. Mackey

1882 July 31 Letter from G. --- Williams, unable to come to Portsmouth

Folder 8 Warden’s Correspondence, August-September, 1882

1882 August 2 Letter from Joseph Casey, unable to accept position in Portsmouth

1882 August 5 Letter from Eva Sherburne, regarding pew tax

1882 August 9 Letter from Thomas Gallaudet, recommendation for Rev. Doctor Casey

1882 August 10 Letter from John Townsend, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 August 11 Letter from Commander Wells (US Navy Yard, Portsmouth)

1882 August 12 Letter from E. M. ----

1882 August 14 Letter to John Townsend, trip to St. John’s

1882 August 22 Letter from E. M. Gushee [?], will officiate at St. John’s

1882 August 24 Letter from John Townsend, plans to come to Portsmouth

1882 August 29 Letter to Joseph Casey, plans to come to Portsmouth

1882 August 30 Letter to Bishop W. W. Niles, regarding Dr. Carey

1882 August 30 Letter from Joseph Carey, visit to Saratoga, NY

1882 August 31 Letter from George Walker, unable to officiate at St. John’s

1882 September 14 Letter from E. M. Gushee [?]

1882 September 15 Letter to Joseph Carey

1882 September 16 Letter from John E. Johnson

1882 September 18 Letter from Joseph Carey

1882 September 19 Letter from E. M. Gushee

1882 September 20 Letter from W. W. Niles, regarding Dr. Carey

Folder 9 Warden’s Correspondence, October 1882-February 1883

1882 October 2 Letter from Joseph Carey, will visit St. John’s

1882 October 3 Letter from Bertha O. Niles, Mr. Niles is away from home

1882 October 4 Letter from W. W. Niles, regarding Mr. Hovey

1882 October 5 Letter from Charles Hutchins, not interested in being a rector candidate

1882 October 6 Letter from W. W. Niles, visit to St. John’s

1882 October 10 Letter from Charles Clement, recommendation for Dr. Harris

1882 October 14 Letter from Charles Clement, enclosed letter from Bishop

1882 October 19 Letter from Thomas F. Davies, sad that search is still going on for a rector

1882 October 20 Letter from W. W. Niles, Rev. Sears to come to St. John’s

1882 October 20 Letter from Joseph Carey, not interested in being a rector candidate

1882 October 31 Letter from A. N. Littlejohn, recommending Rev. Hovey

1882 November 7 Letter from J. E. Johnson, not interested in being a rector candidate

1882 November 8 Letter from Thomas Burgess, will officiate at St. John’s

1882 November 9 Letter from Joseph Carey, will be visiting Portsmouth

1882 November 16 Letter from C. H. Wells (Portsmouth Naval Shipyard), arrangements to officiate at St. John’s

1882 November Letter from Thomas Lambert

1882 November 25 Letter from Charles Hutchins, “Digest of the Canons”

1882 December 5 Letter from H. E. Hovey, visit to St. John’s arranged

1882 December 21 Letter from H. E. Hovey, considering coming to St. John’s

1882 December 29 Letter to Henry E. Hovey, rectory suggestions for when he comes to Portsmouth

1883 January 5 Letter to Henry E. Hovey, disappointed that Hovey desires to go the Christ Church, making a case for St. John’s being a better church

1883 January 8 Letter from Henry E. Hovey, accepting position at St. John’s [2 related letters]

1883 January 15 Letter to Henry Hovey [2 related letters]

Folder 10 Warden’s Correspondence, 1905-1953

B. Treasurers’ Correspondence

Box 4

Folder 11 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1828-1830

Folder 12 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1831-1833

Folder 13 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1834-1838

Folder 14 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1839-1846

Folder 15 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1851-1867

Folder 16 Treasurer’s Correspondence, 1870-1886

C. Rectors’ Correspondence

Box 4

Folder 17 Rev. Charles Burroughs Correspondence, 1831-1848

1831 Copy of certificate of election of the Rev. Levi S. Ives of North Carolina
1837 Statements in favor of the character of Edward Livermore
1838 Resolution from the meeting of the Board of the Protestant Episcopal Church of New Hampshire
1839 Rev. Ten Brock requesting assistance raising funds to build a church in Concord
1842 Rev. John Johns being considered for Assistant Bishop of Virginia [printed letter]
1842 Rev. John Johns being considered for Assistant Bishop of Virginia, follow-up from Pennsylvania [printed letter]
1843 Resolution on the death of Alexander Viets Griswold [printed letter]
1848 George Mument, request for the “deed or lease of land conveyed from North Church to Queen’s Chapel”
1848 George Sparhawk

Folder 18 Rev. Robert Dunn Correspondence, 1942-1954

1942 January 1 Thomas E. Jansen, design for new pulpit
1942 July 14 G. S. Girardet, concerning the origin of the bell in the Pittsfield, NH weaving mill
1942 October 26 J. Templeman Coolidge, transplanting lilacs from Wentworth Coolidge Mansion to St. John’s Church (discusses their being the oldest lilacs in America)
1942 October 26 Henry Wilder Foote (General Theological Library), regarding the portrait of Rev. Arthur Brown, offer to sell it to St. John’s
1943 February 15 Barbara Parker (Museum of Fine Arts), regarding having an appraisal of the portrait of Rev. Arthur Browne
1943 February 19 G. H. Edgell (Museum of Fine Arts), regarding an appraisal of the portrait of Rev. Arthur Browne
1943 April 15 H. B. Rumrill, Brattle Organ
1943 May 13 Henry Wilder Foote (General Theological Library), Rev. Arthur Browne portrait offered for sale
1943 November 3 Eleanor Christie, research request
1944 January 24 Mary Babcock, regarding Rev. Arthur Browne portrait and research
1944 April 5 George F. Marlowe
1944 August 11-October 17 Charles J. Connick, design for a stained glass window at St. John’s [total of four letters]
1945 January 30 C. M. Almy and William J. Brennan (Outfitters to the Church and Clergy), regarding new embroidered adornments for the church
1946 July 10 R. Warren Andrews, organ or sound system repairs [?]
1946 October 7 C. H. Holbrook, photographs of pictures of Queen’s Chapel and survivors of the Greeley Expedition to be sent to St. John’s
1946 October 22 R. S. McDowell, silverplating candlesticks for St. John’s
1947 March 11 Henry P. Van Dusen, donation to Union Theological Seminary
1947 April 2 Fred M. Ray, Parish Meeting leaders of church groups
1947 September 30 Walter H. Stowe (Historical Magazine of the Protestant Episcopal Church), regarding history of St. John’s Church
1947 October 17 Walter H. Stowe (Historical Magazine of the Protestant Episcopal Church), regarding an article about Rev. Arthur Browne
1947 Mary Felsenheld, has found old manuscripts belonging to St. John’s Church, her grandfather had been a rector at St. John’s
1947 November 2 Charles H. Holbrook, regarding manuscripts belonging to St. John’s that he is returning
1947 November 30 Benjamin Winthrop Burke, returning items of historical interest to St. John’s
1947 December 27 & January 29, 1948 Thomas R. Millman, research request
1950 June 11 E. Power Biggs, Brattle Organ
1950 June 14 James H. Fassett, Brattle Organ
1951 May Joseph W. P. Frost, deeds and Glebe land
1952 February Childs Gallery [Publish Bulletin], article about the portrait of Rev. Arthur Browne by Copley
1954 August 8 Herbert E. Haley, regarding history of St. John’s and Chase Home for Children, where Haley lived as a child from 1891 to 1897

IV. Real Estate and Property Records

The Real Estate, Building, and Furnishing Records include miscellaneous documents related primarily to church land, including the highly disputed Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports land in northern New Hampshire. There are also records related to rebuilding the church after the fire in 1806 and various nineteenth century renovations. There are a few documents related to specific objects in the church, such as the organ, books owned by Rev. Arthur Brown and the “George Washington Chair.”

Box 4

Folder 19 Chapel Street Property Deeds, 1721-1739
Folder 20 Chapel Street Property, Deeds, 1807-1810
Folder 21 High Street Property, Deeds and Mortgages, 1813-1848
Folder 22 Deeds and Mortgages, 1744-1789
Folder 23 Deeds and Mortgages, 1810-1868
Folder 24 Society for Propagating the Gospel in Foreign Ports, Deed, 1788
Folder 25 Society for Propagating the Gospel Properties, Leases, 1808-1813

Phase Box 12 Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, Lands Account Book, 1807-1904
Phase Box 13 Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, Letter Transcripts [typed], 1711-1735
Phase Box 14 Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, Large Letter Book [original documents], 1788-1832

Folder 26 Tomb Deeds, 1819-1860
Folder 27 Memorandum notebook of various church properties, 1801-1823
Folder 28 Documents related to the building of St. John’s Church, 1807-1808

Matthew Marsh to Capt. Daniel Hayes, February 27, 1807, looking for lumber for the construction of the new church
“Schedule of Timber for St. John’s Church,” address to Capt. Daniel Hayes of Milton at Madbury
Dedication address for the new church building, May 29, 1808
Typed note concerning where the documents were found and when

Box 5

Folder 1 Subscribers’ Covenant for Rebuilding Church, 1806
List of names of subscribers (signatures) and number of shares purchased
Folder 2 Parish House Building Records and Subscription, 1806
Folder 3 Property Surveys, 1806
Folder 4 Building Alteration Records, 1836-1859
Folder 5 Façade Drawing, ca. 1848
Folder 6 Pew Alteration, 1866-1867
Folder 7 Chapel Window Alteration, 1868
Folder 8 Insurance Policies, 1848-1876
Folder 9 Rectors and Treasurers’ Transferal Receipts, 1773-1882
Folder 10 Proposal to Build Organ, ca. 1807
Folder 11 Estey Organ Contract, 1912
Folder 12 Inventory of Furniture and Gifts, 1941
Folder 13 Catalog of Books in Rev. Browne’s Study, 1774
Books sent to “New England by the Rev. Robert Thomlinson DD Rector of Whickham New Castle...August 24 1738”
Folder 14 Sunday School Library, Booklist and Order, 1869
Folder 15 Manuscript Bible Page, ca. 1400
Folder 16 Washington Chair Covering Sample, ca. 1760s
Oversize Box 7 Folder 14 Building Consecration Certificate, 1848; J.P. Payson, Survey of Church Lot, no date; Benjamin Akerman, Survey of Marsh Property, 1831; Lectern Blueprints, 1944
Oversize Box 7 Folder 15 Insurance Policies, 1808-1889
Oversize Box 7 Folder 17 Catalog of Books in Rev. Browne’s Study, 1774
Parish List, 1967 and burial certificate of William C. Hodgins, 1982

V. Membership Records

Membership Records include the church vital records, records of baptism (birth), marriage, and funerals (deaths). There are also records of members in general and confirmations for various time periods. Information associated with the records varies during different time periods, with some offering more complete notes than others. There are a small amount of pew deeds for the early nineteenth century.

Box 5

Folder 17 1738-1773 Vital Records [original, condition is fragile and should have minimal handling]

Baptisms 1738-1755 (includes name of individual, date and location of baptism)
Marriages 1736-1772 (includes names of individuals, date and location of marriage)
Burials 1737-1741 (includes name of individual, date and location of burial)

Folder 18 1738-1773 Vital Records Index [19th century handwritten copy]

Folder 19 1738-1773 Vital Records Index [typed]

Folder 20 1738-1871 Vital Records [19th century handwritten copy]

Baptisms 1738-1773, 1785-1792 (children of Joshua and Sarah Wentworth), 1868-1871 (includes date of baptism, name of individual and parents’/sponsors names)
Marriages 1736-1772 (includes names of individuals, date and location of marriage)
Burials 1737-1747 (name of individual, date and location of burial, sometimes name of parents and race)

Box 6

Folder 1 1795-1871 Vital Records [copy]

Baptisms 1795-1866, 1866-1868
Marriages 1795-1866, 1867-1871
Communicants 1795-1857
Deaths 1795-1866, 1866-1871
Confirmations 1865-1866

Folder 2 1795-1884 Vital Records Index [typed]

Folder 3 1884-1919 Vital Records with Index

Baptisms 1884-1918 (includes name of individual, date and place of baptism, date and place of birth, parents, and address, sponsor, minister)
Confirmations 1885-1919 (includes name of individual, date, age, date of baptism, minister)
Communicants through 1919 (Alphabetical list of members with notes regarding date of membership, previous church, death, etc.)
Marriages 1884-1919 (includes names, ages, date and place of marriage, residence, names of parents, witnesses and minister)
Burials 1884-1919 (includes name of individual, date of death, age, residence, cause of death, place of burial, minister)

Index in rear of volume covers 1795 through 1919

*Note: Volume begins with a details church chronology from 1638 to 1908

Phase Box 3 1919-1929 Vital Records with Index

Baptisms 1919-1929 (includes name of individual, parents, street address, sponsors, date and place of birth and baptism, minister)
Marriages 1919-1929 (includes name of bride and groom, age, color, residence, occupation, number of marriages, birthplace, name of father, maiden name of mother, witnesses and minister)
Burials 1919-1929 (includes name of individual, age, residence, date and cause of death, burial date and location, minister)
Confirmations 1920-1929 (includes name of individual, age, baptism (type of church), date of confirmation, minister)

Phase Box 4 1929-1936 Vital Records with Index

Marriages 1929-1936 (not in order) (includes name of bride and groom, whether or not widowed, ages, residences, names of parents, witnesses, minister)
Baptisms 1929-1936 (includes name of individual, gender, parents, sponsors, date and place of birth, date and place of baptism, minister)
Confirmations 1930-1936 (includes name of individual, date and place of birth, date and place of baptism, date and place of confirmation, minister)
Burials 1929-1936 (includes name of individual, age, last residence, date of death, cause of death, date and place of burial, minister)

*Note: Several entries in this volume of baptisms and confirmations include individuals at the Naval Prison at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard.

Phase Box 5 1937-1975 Vital Records

New Communicants 1942-1966 (includes name of individual, date entered, church transferring from or to, notes regarding marriage, children, death)
Communicants (current members in 1950 in alphabetical order) includes name, date of membership
Baptisms 1937-1975 (includes name of individual, address, gender, parents, sponsors, birth date and location, baptism date and location, minister)
Confirmations 1937-1973 (includes name of individual, date and place of birth, misc. notes sometimes including church of birth and transfer, date and place of confirmation)
Burials 1937-1974 (includes name of individual, age, last residence, date of death, cause of death, place of internment, date of burial, minister)

Notes in front of volume related to gifts to the church:
“March 1937 Red velvet cape given by Miss Frances Allen in memory of Larvinia, her mother
Nov 1938 Black Cape worm ... anniversary St. John’s Lodge ... White... set by George H. Ducker in memory of his wife. Oct – Ducker (City Marshall left $5000 and his $5000 house to the parish) from this new cushions for the pews.
March 13, ’38 Two silver alter vases given by his family in memory of Merrill Spalding.
February 1, 1942 The Rev. Robert H. Dunn conducted his first services as Rector of St. John’s”

Phase Box 6 1937-1975 Vital Records Index – Accompanies 1937-1975 Vital Records Volume

Phase Box 7 1937-1963 Marriages with Index (includes name of bride and groom, date and place of marriage, whether or not individuals had been widowed, ages, residences, parents’ names, signature of witnesses, name of minister)

Phase Box 8 1972-1988 Vital Records with Index

Baptisms 1972-1988 (includes name of individual, parents’ names, sponsors names, place and date of birth, date of baptism and minister)
Confirmations 1975-1988 (includes name of individual, birth date and place, baptism date and place, confirmation date, and bishop confirming)
Burials 1975-1988 (includes name of individual, gender, age, last residence, date of death, cause of death, place of internment, date of burial and minister)

Box 7

Folder 1 Pew Deeds, 1808-1810, 1849
Folder 2 Pew Holder Records, 1808-1830, undated
Folder 3 Vital Statistics Report and Alms Account, ca. 1881
Folder 4 Baptism Certificates, 1909, 1912
Elizabeth Toscan Parrott daughter of Frederick Toscan Parrott and Adelaide Annette Dawson Parrott, 1909
Harry Griffith Bartlett Jr., 1912
Folder 5 Baptism Record Cards, 1910-1916
Folder 6 Burial Record Cards, 1910-1917
Folder 7 Marriage Record Cards, 1914-1915
Folder 8 Communicants Record Cards, 1914-1925

VI. Financial Records

Financial Records are divided into three subgroups, Wardens’ Account Books, Treasurer’s Records and Bills & Receipts. Wardens’ Account Books provide a general record of church operations, income from collections and donations and expenses, usually for general church maintenance. The Treasurer’s Records provide record of investments and bank accounts. The largest part of the Financial Records is made up of Bills and Receipts. Bills and Receipts include general lists of church accounts, which usually included salary of rector and wardens, church maintenance and repairs, general accounting of income, etc. There are also some individual bills and receipts from individual performing work at the church. During the eighteenth century there are frequent bills for glass repair and bread. The receipts are an excellent resource to learn more about individuals underrepresented in many archival sources, including women, working class and poor. There are records of men repairing and cleaning up the church yard and women tending the fires and ironing linens. The receipts provide an excellent record of repairs and general decorating of the church (including decorating for Christmas and wall papering the parsonage). The bills and receipts also provide a nice record of the music of the church including who was singing and playing the organ, both were often women. There are also frequent lists of individuals receiving aid from the church, including money, coal, wood and bread. Both the Wardens’ Account Books and the Bills and Receipts have notes in the folder list below that represent what type of material are found in the folder, but are not a complete listing of every page or document included.

A. Warden’s Account Books

Phase Box 9 Warden’s Account Books, 1786-1808

Includes record of church repairs, maintenance, minister’s salary as well as income from pew taxes including frequent lists of individuals and taxes paid or owed (overdue).

1785 Repairing clapboards and shingles, paying carpenter
1789 Mending glass windows, washing church linen, lot of land purchased by Jonathan Warner “adjoining the South Side of Queen’s Chapel”
1790 Repairing the steeple, step stone, glazing (windows), purchasing padlocks and lock for organ
1792-1793 Payments made to temporary and one time ministers for preaching sermons
1795-1796 Repairs to church exterior and gate
1800-1801 (Page 65-66) Lists of individuals receiving charity from the Christmas day offering. Names include:

Hannah Hewes
Mrs. Buck
Shadrack Seaward
John Redding
M. Driscol
T. Melcher
Widow Jackson
Mrs. Arixon
Sarah Sutton
Phillip McCrane
H. Hewes
Mrs. Seaward
Mrs. Cronie
Rousseau & Venus

1800 Subscriptions purchased to repair steeple
1800 (Page 72) List of expenses associated with repairing steeple
1805 (Page 82) List of individuals receiving charity from the Christmas day offering. Names include:

A Friend
Mrs. Buck
Mrs. Seaward
Mr. Marden
Mr. Melcher
Mrs. Stoodly
Mr. Jones
Mrs. Welch
Venus, a black
Widow Fowler
Widow Arixon
Thomas Roacke
Mr. Bartlett

1806 (Page 84) List of individuals receiving charity from the Christmas day offering. Followed by the note: “In consequence of the destruction of St. John’s Church by fire on the morning of the 24th December. The above collection was made in the Rev’d Doct Buckminster’s Meeting House, & a sermon preach by the Doctor.

Phase Box 10 Warden’s Account Book with Pew Taxes, 1807-1851

Includes detailed lists of members paying taxes, expenses (maintenance and repairs) and salaries. Annual statements of recipients of the charity collection taken on Christmas.

1807-1808 (Page 1) List of individuals who benefitted from the “Collection of Christmas Day...for the Poor of the Parish” for 1807 and 1808.
1808 (Page 2) “A Memorandum” regarding loan balance and payment to the United States
1821 (Page 190) Collection taken “for the benefit of the sufferers by fire at Fayetteville, North Carolina”
1830 (Page 179) Collection taken “for the relief of the sufferers by fire at Gloucester.”
1839 (Page 232) “A contribution was taken this day for the purpose of aiding in erecting an Episcopal Church in Matagorda in Texas...”

Phase Box 14 Warden’s Account Book, 1851-1886

Includes annual lists of taxes collected, charity distributed (list of recipients) and church expenses (wood, repairs, bread, cleaning linens, etc.). Infrequent notes about parish happenings, when related to finances.

Box 7

Folder 9 Warden’s Account Books, 1889-1909

Front cover (inside) contains a list “Purpose of Trusts of St. John’s Church.” Account book of church expenses and income for each year, including a special fund for the needy of the church in the rear.

Folder 10 Warden’s Account Book 1909-1916

Front cover (inside) contains a list “St. John’s Church Funds,” including purpose of the fund and where the fund is invested. Account book of church expenses and income for each year.

B. Treasurer’s Records

Box 8

Folder 1 Treasurers’ Account Books, 1824-1929
Phase Box 11 Treasurer’s Daybooks, 1825-1882
Folder 2 Treasurers’ Account Book Investments, 1913-1929
Folder 3 Treasurers’ Daybook, 1884-1916
Folder 4 Treasurers’ Daybook, 1921-1925

Box 9

Folder 1 Treasurer Cash Accounts Daybook, 1929-1946
Folder 2 Treasurer Cash Accounts Daybook, 1946-1948
Folder 3 Investment Accounts Daybook, 1824-1913

Box 10

Folder 1 Investment Accounts Daybook, 1913-1928
Folder 2 Investment Accounts Daybook, 1929-1946

Treasurers’ and Warden’s Financial Statements include annual lists of taxes and investments. Later, Monthly Financial Statements, include a general account of expenses and income.

Folder 3 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1800-1827
Folder 4 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1828-1832
Folder 5 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1832-1841
Folder 6 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1841-1845

Box 11

Folder 1 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1845-1853
Folder 2 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1853-1859
Folder 3 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1858-1864
Folder 4 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1864-1868
Folder 5 Treasurers’ and Wardens’ Financial Statements, 1868-1881
Folder 6 Monthly Financial Reports, 1924-March 1926
Folder 7 Monthly Financial Reports, April 1926-March 1927
Folder 8 Monthly Financial Reports, April 1927-December 1928
Folder 9 Monthly Financial Reports, 1929
Folder 10 Monthly Financial Reports, 1930
Folder 11 Monthly Financial Reports, 1931
Folder 12 Monthly Financial Reports, 1932
Folder 13 Tax Account Book, 1812-1813 (with Account Memorandum, 1841-1842)
Folder 14 Tax Account Book, 1813-1816
Folder 15 Tax Account Books, 1822-1823, 1830-1831
Folder 16 Pew Tax Account Book, 1895-1909
Folder 17 Pew Tax Account Book, 1914-1940

Phase Box 15 Record of Donations (includes name of individual and record of weekly donations), 1964-1965 [?]

Oversize Box 7 Folder 15 Tax Statements, 1762-1781

Box 11

Folder 18 Poll and Pew Tax Bills, 1811
Folder 19 Poll and Pew Tax Bills, 1831
Folder 20 Poll and Pew Tax Bills, 1867
Folder 21 Account Memorandum (Wastebook) Book, 1807-1809
Folder 22 Account Memorandum Book, 1811-1812
Folder 23 Account Memorandum Book, 1841

Box 12

Folder 1 Bank Account Book, 1825-1843
Folder 2 Bank Account Book, 1843-1864
Folder 3 Bank Account Book, 1864-1879
Folder 4 Chapel Building Account Memorandum Book, 1832-1833
Folder 5 Building Repair Accounts, 1847-1850
Folder 6 Chapel Expansion Account Memorandum Book, 1868-1871
Folder 7 Subscription for Vestry, 1831
Folder 8 Subscription for Sunday School, ca. 1870s-1880s
Folder 9 New Hampshire Bank Stock, 1810
Folder 10 Legacies, 1746-1864
Folder 11 Court Claims, 1765-1878
Folder 12 Loan Notes Against Church, 1806-1868
Folder 13 Loan Notes for Church and Financial Memorandum, 1810-1845, undated
Folder 14 Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, Land Memorandum, 1825-1827
Folder 15 Kirby Farm Memorandum, 1823-1831
Folder 16 Peyton R. Freeman, Financial Memorandum, 1817-1837
Folder 17-18 Peyton R. Freeman, Piscataqua Bridge Shares, Deeds and Certificates, 1816-1850

C. Bills & Receipts

Box 12

Folder 19 Bills and Receipts, 1745-1749

1745 Account for repairs made to the church exterior, supplies included clapboards, shingles, lead, and nails.

Folder 20 Bills and Receipts, 1752-1759

1755 Excerpt from the will of George Richards dated 1736 in which he leaves his pew to Lydia Racklef (widow of Portsmouth)
1757 Bill for work on church bell
1757 Bill “to lay a platform for organ at church”
Undated Bill delivering an organ from Boston [?]

Folder 21 Bills and Receipts, 1761-1769

1764 Bill on behalf of the estate of Joseph Buss [?] for the wife of William Pearsly for work performed on the church in 1754 and 1761, including several lines of work performed by a slave
1767 Bill from Ebenezer Deering for carving work, molding and pillars
1767 “Painting the Governors’ Pew four times over...gilding and painting crown and coat arms...”
1767 Robert Harrold’s bill for “2 small mahogany coutches with castors” and “a large gotthick chair with a footstool and castor”
1768 Joseph Bass bill for “crimson silk lace” and various other fine textiles

Folder 22 Bills and Receipts, 1772-1775

1772 Building a fence for the pasture “which the Rev. Browne improves...which belongs to the Estate of the Late Thomas Wibird.”
1773 Abigail Bennett’s bill for linens
1774 Subscriptions to raise funds in hopes of finding a minister “ready to settle in said church.”
1775 Mary Traill settling account with church by exchanging silver [?]

Folder 23 Bills and Receipts, 1780-1787

1781 Richard Cotter bill for repairs to bell frame
1785 Numerous receipts for repairs to church

Folder 24 Bills and Receipts, 1788-1789

1788 George Doig bill for “Painting & gilding a small chest.”
1789 Money received from Oliver Whipple for land belonging to the church
1789 Michael Whidden receipt for payment for work done on the “Governors Pew”
1789 Debt owed to Peggy (Margaret Purcell) on behalf of her father Gregory Purcell

Folder 25 Bills and Receipts, 1790-1791

1790 George Doig bill for “gilding Warden’s pew.”
1791 Josiah Leavitt bills for “coming from Boston to examine the organ” and for repairing the organ

Folder 26 Bills and Receipts, 1792-1793

1791 George Osborne’s bill for “advertising pewter sale in St. John’s chapel.”
1793 John Dennet bill for “repairing the stairs of St. John’s Church”
1793 Daniel Jewell bill for clapboarding the church
1793 Subscriptions purchased to fun church repairs
1793 Stephen Chase bill for clapboards, signed by his wife Mary Chase

Folder 27 Bills and Receipts, 1794

1794 Subscriptions purchased to pay the organist

Folder 28 Bills and Receipts, 1795-April 1797

1795 Isaac Waldron statement regarding Piscataqua Bridge shares
1796 Nathaniel Gookin “for making steps to the porch doors”
1796 John Payson letter stating he is unable to work for St. John’s any further until he is paid more
1797 Letter regarding a bill from Rev. Ogden (resigned five years before) for clothing

Box 13

Folder 1 Bills and Receipts, May 1797-April 1798

1797 Charles Peirce bill for printing tax bills
1798 John Payson unable financially to continue his work as church clerk, pay is too little

Folder 2 Bills and Receipts, May 1798-April 1799

1798 Discharge or mortgage between Sam Dalling and Theodore Atkinson (for St. John’s)
1798 James Norie bill for organ repairs (signed by Katherin Norie)
1798 William Stanwood Jr. “bill of expense for singers” includes rum, brandy, lemons, sugar, candles, apples and raisins

Folder 3 Bills and Receipts, April 1799-April 1800

1799 Nathaniel Gookin bill for building a 66 foot picket fence at the church and repairing pews
1799 George Doig bill for painting interior wood fixtures
1799 Isaac Stanwood repairing organ

Folder 4 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1800-Easter 1801

1800 Mark Loud bill for work on the steeple
1800 George Doig bill for painting and gilding
1800 Christopher Rhymes bill for repairs
1800 Samuel Elliott bill for painting

Folder 5 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1801-Easter 1804

1803 Christopher Rhymes bill for iron work to bell
1803 John Gray bill for painting the steeple
1804 Subscriptions to raise money “to be presented to the Rev. Joseph Willard as a gratuity”

Folder 6 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1804-Easter 1806

1805 John Locke bill “for teaching the young ladies to sing at the church”
1806 W & D Treadwell received payment for printing hymns and advertising pews for sale
1806 ca. Subscriptions to raise money “for the purpose of purchasing the cloth that hangs on the pulpit in St. John’s Church to be presented to the Rev. Mr. Willard

Folder 7 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1806-Easter 1808

1806 William R. Hardy bill for “making a ministers gown”
1807 William Treadwell bill for printing including “notice to contract for building Parsonage House”
1807 Isaac Stanwood statement “Received of the Warden’s of St. John’s Church forty dollars in full for services as organist from Easter 1806 to the destruction of the church by fire in December last.”
1807 James Nutter bill for making a book case
1807 John Goddard bill for “stock lock” and knocker
1807 Thomas Spinney bill for laying pipes to connect church to aqueduct
1807 Langley Boardman bill for cord for bell and fire board
1807 Mark Laighton bill for pump (for aqueduct connection)
1808 Stephen Foye bill for hinges and locks
1808 Nathaniel B. March bill for leather fire buckets and for painting same
1808 Thomas Elliot of London bill for organ

Folder 8 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1808-Easter 1810

1808 James Nutter bill for “plain window shutters” and other small projects
1808 Clement Jackson bill for donation board
1808 Samuel Larkin bill for liquor and wine some of which was “furnished the singers while preparing music for conservation”
1807-1808 List of expenses associated with building new church after the fire in 1806
1810 “Account of cost of the Parish House & Land of St. John’s Church”

Folder 9 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1810-Easter 1812

1810 Benjamin W. Adams bill for brandy (for singers), punch and candles
1810 Mark Lowd bill for “removing the family of Mr. Jeffers”
1811 Joseph Akerman bill for “expense of relaying the aqueduct to the church parsonage house fixing new pump...”
1811 Benjamin Akerman bill for “surveying & making a plan of the lot whereon the church stands”

Folder 10 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1812-Easter 1814

1812 Edward Hart bill for brick and lime
1812-1813 Isaac Stanwood bill for services as organist and clerk
1812 Charles Hardy bill for trucking bricks
1812 Eben Harriman bill for “one days work carrying mortar & bricks for masons building stoves for the church.”
1812 Christopher Rhymes bill for iron work for bell, nails, hooks, bricks, etc.
1813 Stephen Foye bill for making door for the church

Folder 11 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1814-Easter 1816

1815 Benjamin Brierly and Edmund Roberts paying pew tax, advance on tax of Samuel Ham “towards the building of stoves”
1815 Walter Smith bill for cellar wall stones and repairing the wall at St. Johns

Folder 12 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1816-Easter 1818

1815 Thomas Cooper bill for tuning the organ
1815 Edward Hart bill for “use of my room, fire & candles for singers...brandy & wine for ditto.”
1816 William Newel bill for “twine used in decorating the church for Christmas.”
1807-1817 Payton R. Freeman account with St. Johns related to legal expenses surrounding the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel land
1817 Benjamin Adams bill for (reimbursement) twine and “paid man for getting evergreen” (for Christmas)

Folder 13 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1818-Easter 1820

1819 Thomas Brackett bill for 500 feet of boards, lime, shingles, etc.
1818-1820 Pickerning & Sherburne bill for cut nails and sheet lead
1819 Henry Dow bill for work on Parsonage for Pickering & Sherburne, Samuel Parks, Folsom & Smith, Nathaniel Dennett, Jonathan Barkers, Benjamin Nutters, and George Ayers.
1819 John Gilman bill for tuition at singing school

Folder 14 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1820-Easter 1822

1821 Isaac Stanwood bill for repairing the organ
1820-1821 Bills for trucking cord wood and painting

Folder 15 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1822-Easter 1823

1822 List of subscribers contributing funds towards “a dinner to be given at Mr. Wentworth’s ...Bishop & other clergy & gentlemen attending the convention Portsmouth 23rd September 1822.”
1822 List of individuals receiving bread or assistance from the church. List is mostly women, one is identified as “mulatto” another is the “sexton’s widow.”
1822 Isaac Stanwood bill for tuning the organ
1820-1822 List of supplies supplied by Pickering and Sherburne including nails, bolts, screws, pad locks, twine, etc.

Folder 16 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1823-Easter 1824

1823 James Sheafe bill for painting
1824 Richard Creel and Levi Wiggin bill for cord wood and trucking

Folder 17 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1824-Easter 1825

1824 Timothy Ham bill for repairing the dome of the church
1824 Samuel Gerrish bill for a piece of lead for church spire
1824 “Distribution of the Christmas Collection” list of individuals receiving aid from the church
1825 Sherburne and Blunt bill for copper and nails

Folder 18 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1825-Easter 1826

1825 Bound booklet “St. John’s Church in account with Peyton R. Freeman” regarding the land belonging to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Ports
1826 Money contributed to the towns of Ripley, Maine and Parkman, Maine which suffered fires in 1826
1826 Benjamin Nutter bill for work on stoves
1825 Sherburne & Blunt bill for supplies, locks, brooms, twine, etc.
1826 Elizabeth Gulifer [?] of Conway, NH request for money

Folder 19 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1826-Easter 1827

1826 Note regarding the salary of the late organist, Isaac Stanwood and the new organist Mr. Kimball
1826 Elizabeth Smith bill for services as organist
1827 Ann Schaffer bill for services as organist
1826 Bill (with advertisement and description of store) from William L. Lawrence Bedding Warehouse on Daniel Street in Portsmouth
1827 Distribution of Christmas Collection to poor, includes a list of individuals (most women) receiving aid

Folder 20 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1827-Easter 1828

1827 William Rymes bill for fixing bell and lengthening lightning rod
1828 Ann Schaffer for playing the organ
1828 ca. Note and list of names regarding money for purchasing land in Orford

Folder 21 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1828-Easter 1829

1828 Ann Schaffer bill for playing the organ

Box 14

Folder 1 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1829-Easter 1830

1829 Samuel Larkin bill for playing the organ
1829 Robert Henderson bill for making hat hooks, screws, knobs, etc.
1829 Benjamin Warren bill for shoveling snow at the church
1829 Thomas Hanscom bill for 500 bricks for chimney
1829 Nathaniel Smith bill for rebuilding parsonage chimney and for work on church

Folder 2 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1830-Easter 1831

1830 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1830 Collection sent to victims of the fire in Gloucester, Massachusetts
1830 Nathaniel Dennett bill for work on church and morter
1831 Henry Dow bill for repairing glass and latch

Folder 3 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1831-Easter 1832

1831 Collection sent to victims of the fire in Fayetteville, North Carolina
1831 Avery Plumer’s agreement to provide and deliver bread for St. John’s Church
1831 George Hart bill for cleaning and repairing stove funnels and irons
1831 Dinah Rollins bill for “myself and two other women and boy for cleaning all the inside of said church, and rubbing all the mahogany, cleaning carpets...”
1832 Thomas Wiggin bill for wood and work on church yard
1831 Thomas Bailey bill for lumber
1831 John Smith bill for repairs to chimney, painting, etc.

Folder 4 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1832-Easter 1833

1832 William Tucker bill for timber and construction work
1832 Nathaniel Dennett bill for mending plaster at parsonage
1833 List of individuals contributing towards paying “Miss Moses for her valuable services in the orchestra.”
1832 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 5 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1833-Easter 1834

1834 Eliza D. Moses bill for singing [?]
1833 Thomas Wiggin bill for shoveling snow
Folder 6 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1834-Easter 1835

1834 Samuel Dockum bill for varnishing pulpit
1834 Sarah Marsh bill for 106 feet flag stone
1834 Thomas Wiggin bill for shoveling snow
1835 S. L. Gordon bill for 4 blanch music books and for blowing organ

Folder 7 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1835-Easter 1836

1835 Thomas Wiggin bill for shoveling snow
1836 Carpet Warehouse Ballard & Prince, Boston, bill for carpeting
1835 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 8 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1836-Easter 1838

1836 Peter Tilton bill for lining stove with soap stone
1837 E. F. Sise & Co. bill for 765 pounds of coal
1837 S. L. Gordon bill for organist services
1837 Thomas Wiggin bill for shoveling snow
1837 Nathaniel Dennett bill for work on church, bricks and hauling

Folder 9 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1838-Easter 1839

1838 John Perkins bill for repairing blinds
1838 John Knowlton bill for repairing
1838 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1839 Stephen F. Gordon bill for organist services

Folder 10 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1839-Easter 1840

1840 S. E. Neal bill for singing
1840 Thomas Clapham bill for bread
1839 William Rymes bill for mending the bell, nails and hooks
1840 Thomas Wiggin for shoveling snow

Folder 11 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1840-Easter 1841

1840 James B. Pray bill for work on church
1840 Stephen Pearse bill for sperm oil
1840 Thomas Wiggin bill for shoveling snow

Folder 12 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1841-Easter 1842

1841 Anne L. Walkers bill for services as organist
1841 Thomas Pickering bill for work done on church
1841 Thomas Wiggin bill for repairing wall around burial ground
1841 John Ames bill “for my services in dressing the church for Christmas”
1841 Leonard Tucker detailed report of his services performed as church sexton, cleaning pavement, sawing wood, delivering tax bills, etc.
1841 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 13 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1842-Easter 1843

1842 Samuel N. Plumer bill for singing at church
1842 Ivah N. Rugg bill for repairing bell
1842 William Tucker bill for timber and repair supplies
1842 Stephen Pearse bill for oil, broom and candles
1842 Report of collection made for foreign missionaries
1842 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 14 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1843-Easter 1844

1843 Mark Hunking Wentworth “for damage on cloth for draping the church”
1843 George Hart bill for locks, repairing stove funnel, etc.
1843 Stephen Pearse bill for oil, brooms, and candles

Folder 15 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1844-Easter 1845

1844 Abraham A. Staples for work repairing shingles at Parish House
1844 Portsmouth Aqueduct bill
1844 Stephen Pearse bill for oil, brooms and candles
1844 Leonard Tucker bill for shoveling snow, moving books from church to chapel, etc.

Folder 16 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1845-Easter 1846

1845 Statement regarding a collection taken at St. John’s for the victims of a fire in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania
1846 Eliza Price and Ellen E. Hill bill for services as organist
1845 Mahalah Chapham bill for singing at church
1846 Mary L. Hanscom bill for singing at church
1846 James Bartlett bill for leading music
1845 George Hart bill for work on funnels and dampers in chimney
1845 Portsmouth Aqueduct bill
1845 Leonard Tucker bill for maintenance work done at church including shoveling snow

Folder 17 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1846-Easter 1847

1846 Henry Whittemore bill for work on walls of church
1846 Barker & Adams bill for cement and trucking and for hard brick
1846 Spalding & Parrott bill for iron and chain
1846 Hampti Kenney repairing slate on roof
1847 Leonard Tucker bill for services as sexton (shoveling snow, trucking, etc.)

Folder 18 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1847-Easter 1848

1847 Portsmouth Aqueduct bill
1847 George Hart bill for work on funnel
1847 B. Barri bill for delivering bread to poor, with list of individuals

Folder 19 Bills and Receipts, Church Renovation receipts, 1847-1848

Box 15

Folder 1 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1848-Easter 1849

1848 William Burrett bill for “assisting to dress the church for Christmas and other jobs.”
1848 Portsmouth Mutual Fire Insurance Office assessment
1848 Installation of Russia funnel, stove (bought at auction) and installation
1849 J. Harris Ham bill for “services at the organ”

Folder 2 Bills and Receipts, 1848-1849 Construction of the Parsonage House

1848-1849 Account with Burker & Adams for building supplies, boards, timber, lime, sand, hair, etc.
1848 Thomas L. Pickering labor of the Freeman House (Parsonage House)
1848 J. Plumer Dennett bill for “work on house lot adjoining church”
1849 William Moran bill for work on Parsonage House
1848 William Smith bill for work on Parsonage House
1848 Samuel Furbish bill for work on Parsonage House
1848 Edman M. Brown bill “for 3 cherry wood stair posts for the parish house”
1848 Abraham A. Staples bill for labor at the new parsonage house
1848 Thomas L. Bailey bill for building supplies
1848 John Locke bill for building supplies
1848 John Locke bill for glue and spirits for paint
1848 James W. Bowls bill for painting
1848 Charles L. Damrell bill for wall paper
1848 Thatcher Emery bill for boards for pulpit, mahogany, newels, banisters, etc.

Folder 3 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1849-Easter 1850

1849 Hamti Venney bill for paint and boards
1849 Barton and Cobb bill for tuning organ
1849 B. Barri bill for bread
1849 Oliver Ayers for repairing pump at Freeman House

Folder 4 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1850-Easter 1851

1848 (original receipt date, paid in 1850) Samuel Dockum bill
1850 Stephen Pearse bill for “2 best brooms”
1851 Louisa Bartlett bill for playing the organ
1851 James R. Bartlett bill for directing the choir
1850 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 5 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1851-Easter 1852

1851 J. F. Shores bill for “6 rolls paper for house in High Street”
1851 William H. Rundlett bill for work on parsonage house including work of George H. Rundlett, setting lights and hanging paper
1851 John H. Ferguson bill for iron work including fence rails, posts, gate, etc.
1852 Hamti Kenny bill for stonework for fence

Folder 6 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1852-Easter 1853

1852 Hamti Kenny bill for building supplies, joists, nails, planks, etc.
1852 Swasey and Rowell bill for painting
1851-1853 “Account of Contributions for repairing the chapel” list of names of individuals and dollar amount contributed

Folder 7 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1853-Easter 1854

1853 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1853 Hamti Kenny bill for building supplies and work done at house located at 15 High Street
1853 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 8 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1854-Easter 1855

[more notes and scrap lists of contribution amounts, fewer bills than in earlier years]
1855 Letter of thanks for from “Hon. Isaac Reed of Waldoborough, for the sufferers by the late fire in that town...” includes contribution amounts made by the other churches in Portsmouth as well

Folder 9 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1855-Easter 1856

1855 Elizabeth A. Merrill bill for services singing
1856 Lists of individuals helping on work projects on houses on High Street and Chapel Street
1856 Hamti Kenny bill for work including putting lock on library, creating patterns for casting, paint, boards, etc.
1855 Thomas Kennedy for blowing organ
1855 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 10 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1856-Easter 1857

1856 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1856 Andrew D. Gerrish bill for repairing pump at High Street house
1856 Brackett H. Hurd bill for whitening two rooms
1856 John H. Lowd bill for services as organist
1856 Mrs. O. S. Drake bill for singing
1856 Loan note for Mrs. Mary Rider lending the church $400 in 1847

Folder 11 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1857-Easter 1858

1856 Loan note for Mrs. Mary Rider lending the church $400 in 1847
1857 B. F. Chandler bill for papering and painting
1857 M. A. Fernald bill for singing
1858 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1858 James M. Rand bill for iron work
1857 Swasey & Rowell bill for painting, gilding and mending fresco work
1857 George L. Treadwell bill for nails, lead, hinges, pipe, etc.

Folder 12 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1858-Easter 1859

1859 Mary King bill for washing and ironing
1859 Charles E. Main bill for work on chimneys
1859 John P. Payson bill for work directing choir
1859 Albert W. Parsons bill for sining
1858 Barker Adams bill for clapboards and timber
1858 N. L. Merrill and Son bill for lumber
1858 G. N. Carleton bill for work on stoves (printed bill head)

Folder 13 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1859-Easter 1860

1859 Oliver Ditson bill for singing books “Golden Wreath”
1859 Peter Sullivan bill for repairing wall around burial ground
1859 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)
1859 Barker and Adams bill for sand, lime, and cement
1859 Charles E. Main bill for bricks
1859 E. A. Stevens bill for taking down and cleaning the funnels
1859 Swasey & Rowells bill for painting
1860 James Worburton bill for blowing organ

Folder 14 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1860-Easter 1861

1860 Russel & Tolman bill for blank music books
1857 Mary Rider receipt for loan payment
1860 Amos Pearson bill for organist
1860 E. A. Stevens bill for chimney work

Folder 15 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1861-Easter 1862

1862 Firth, Pond & Co. bill for music books
1862 Portsmouth Athenaeum receipt for payment of share

Folder 16 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1862-Easter 1863

1862 Grogan Gardner bill for printing
1862 Oliver Ayers bill for cast iron pump and other
1862 E. A. Stevens bill for feather dusters, brushes, and stove pipe cleaning & repair
1862 Charles H. Gould bill for work on pulpit
1862 George L. Treadwell bill for nails, sand paper, screws, etc.
1862 Alfred T. Joy bill for mahogany, polishing varnish, etc.
1862 John Somerby bill for making cushions, fabric, etc.
1863 Robert King bill for blowing organ and lighting fires for Sunday School
1863 Robert King for Mary King bill for washing and ironing linens

Folder 17 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1863-Easter 1864

1863 Benjamin F. Webster bill for repairs on Parsonage
1863 Elisha Tripp bill for work on parsonage

Folder 18 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1865-Easter 1866

1864 Alfred T. Joy bill for covering desk
1866 A. J. Ayers bill for shoveling snow and cleaning gutters
1866 Albert H. Lear bill for tolling the bell and blowing the organ

Box 16

Folder 1 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1866-Easter 1867

1866 Olive Marden bill for building fires, cleaning and taking care of chapel
1867 John Hatche payment for evergreen wreath to decorate church
1866 Mary King (Robert King) bill for washing and ironing
1866 ca. sketch, perhaps of rooms or pews in the church
1866 Christmas Collection distribution to the poor (with list of individuals receiving money)

Folder 2 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1867-Easter 1868

1867 C. C. Jackson bill for cleaning up chapel yard
1867 Benjamin Webster bill for altering pews and putting down carpet
1867 Luther N. Hurd bill for cements, slate, mortar, nails and labor
1867 Cyrus Wakefield bill for brush mats
1867 Benjamin Webster bill for work on roof and belfry
1867 Mary King bill for washing and ironing

Folder 3 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1868-Easter 1869

1868 Benjamin Webster bill for bricks, building supplies and trucking
1868 Elisha Tripp bill for wall paper and paint for parsonage
1869 Marcellus Bufford bill for “painting the chapel on State Street (not including the graining) but including the glazing, varnishing, etc...”
1869 E. P. Dutton & Co. bill for books (long list with titles/authors)

Folder 4 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1869-Easter 1872

1869 Benjamin Webster “joiner work and supplies”
1868-1870 “Miss Rider’s Legacy” with notes about how money had been spent

Folder 5 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1872-Easter 1875

1872-1875 Diocese of New Hampshire printed bills for support

Folder 6 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1875-Easter 1877

1875-1877 Diocese of New Hampshire printed bills for support

Folder 7 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1878-Easter 1880

1880 note about Parish Funds being used for the “purchase of food for the poor of St. John’s parish during the winter months
1879 John A. Reding paid for “services in connection with the Mrs. Sally Morse property – in settling personal claims, and in selling and deeding real estate

Folder 8 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1880-Easter 1881

1880 A. S. Trafton & Son Blacksmith bill for ironwork
1880 Edith Wendell bill for singing
1880 Jane E. Lyons bill for washing and ironing
1880 Mrs. John Bennett bill for singing
1880 N. A. Taylor bill for “her services as contrallo singer”
1881 William Morse bill for dressing the church for Christmas
1880 W. J. Sampson bill for painting
1881 John P. Sweetser House Furnishing Goods, Stoves, Furnaces, bill for 2 Opal Globes
1880 Charle A. Holbrook bill for communion wine
1881 H. L. Harlow bill “for singing bass and services of organ...”
1879 Note “Please send 1 cord hard wood, cut three times to Mrs. George Manent 1 Russell St...” charged to the Burrough’s fund
1879 Note “Please send 1 ton stove coal to Mrs. Jane Anderson 10 Hunking St...” charged to Burrough’s fund

Folder 9 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1881-Easter 1883

1883 Samual O. Gardner bill for pumping the organ
1882 William Andrews bill for painting steps
1883 A. Gardner bill for washing and ironing
1883 Woodbury Seavey bill for lawn seed
1882 (Dec. 18) Samuel Dow bill for hemlock boughs and hauling from Rye and Spruce trees and boughs

Folder 10 Bills and Receipts, Receipts for Pulpit Supply 1882

1882 Reports of various church funds, interest, etc.

Folder 11 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1883-Easter 1885

1883-1885 Reports of various church funds, interest, etc.

Folder 12 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1885-Easter 1886

1885-1886 Reports of various church funds, interest, etc.

Folder 13 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1886-1902

1886-1902 Reports of various church funds, interest, etc.

Box 17

Folder 1 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1904-Easter 1905

1904 Wood Brothers bill for taking a load of “rubbish” to the dump
1904 Irene M. Shaw bill “for service in choir”
1904 H. P. Seaver bill for repairing pipe organ
1904 ca. James Buchanan bill for mowing grass
1904 Jessie Woods bill for services as organist
1905 Robert King bill for pointing steps and wall
1905 ca. List of individuals purchasing subscriptions for bell

Folder 2 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1905-Easter 1906

1906 C. E. Jackson (and others) bill for services in choir
1906 Robert King bill for repairing church slips and yard wall
1905 James Buchanan bill for mowing lawn
1905 George A. Jackson bill for work at ½ house and parsonage

Folder 3 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1906-Easter 1907

1906 Pryor & Matthews Hardware and Paints bill for paint, varnish, brushes, etc.
1906 George A. Jackson Contractor and Builder bill for work and building supplies
1907 Robert King bill for pointing church steps and wall

Folder 4 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1907-Easter 1908

1907 C. E. Jackson bill for services in choir
1908 Weaver’s Restaurant Oyster and Quick Lunch Room (26 and 28 Congress Street) bill for 22 meals

Folder 5 Bills and Receipts, Easter 1908-Easter 1909

1909 Chadwick and Trefethen Machinists and Steam Fitters bill for work on bell, repairing locks, etc. [2 receipts]
1909 Georgina H. Leebrack [?] bill for services as organist

VII. General Records

The General Records include twentieth century volumes titled “Register of Church Services.” These volumes include brief notes recording date of service, numbers in attendance and occasionally other notes as well. Records are very brief.

Box 17

Folder 6 Register of Church Services, 1916-1920
Folder 7 Register of Church Services, 1920-1922
Folder 8 Register of Church Services, 1926-1945
Folder 9 Register of Church Services, 1946-1951
Folder 10 Register of Church Services, 1951-1956

VIII. Clubs and Organizations

The Clubs and Organizations records include twentieth century records for the Men’s Clun and the St. John’s Guild, which appears to have changed its name to the Episcopal Church Women. The records include meeting minutes, election of officers, and description of activities (often fundraising).

Box 18

A. Men’s Club

Folder 1 Record Book, 1925-1941
Folder 2 Record Book, 1941-1959
Folder 3 General Records, 1941-1960, undated
Folder 3A Presentation to Men's Club by Rodney Robinson        

B. St. John’s Guild

Folder 4 St. John’s Guild Record Book, 1948-1961

Box 19

Folder 1 St. John’s Guild Record Book, 1961-1987
Folder 2 St. John’s Guild Scrapbook (Newspaper Clippings), 1935-1938
Folder 3 St. John’s Guild Scrapbook (Newspaper Clippings) [Copies]
Folder 7 Kneelers

C. Episcopal Church Women

Folder 4 -6 Episcopal Church Women Misc. Records 1979-1987

IX. Church History

Church History records include research notes as well as published articles about the history of the church.

Box 20

Folder 1

Folder 1 Notes and Articles on Church History, including “Old St. John’s Parish” by Franklin Ware Davis, 1894 (published booklet) and "A History of the Diocese of New Hampshire, 1802-1952," by Robert Hayes Dunn, 1952
Folder 1A Chornological Summary of St. John's Church
Folder 2 Church Records for St. John’s Church, 1795-1860s [typed by Dorothy Vaughan]
Folder 3 “Records of Deaths in the Parish of St. John’s Church, 1795-1872” [handwritten notes by Dorothy Vaughan]
Folder 4 Marker Records of St. John’s Church [typed report by Louise Tallman]
Folder 5 Index of records by Robert Dunn (incomplete notes, some handwritten, some typed)
Folder 6 “A Study of the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of New Hampshire,” by The General Division of Research and Field Study of the National Council of the Protestant Episcopal Church, 1960

X. Miscellaneous

Box 20

Folder 7 John Langdon, Masonic and Social Address…On the Laying of the Cornerstone of St. John’s Episcopal Church, 1807, (Photocopy 1955)
Folder 8 Rev. Charles Burrough’s, Sermon on the Death of Gov. John Langdon (manuscript), 1813
Folder 9 Rev. James Morss, “Discourse in St. John’s Church, Portsmouth, …On Occasion of Opening the New Church,” 1808 (typescript)
Folder 10 E. M. [Rev. Enoch Mudge, Minister of the Methodist Church?], “Memoir of Miss Lydia B. Leavitt,” (manuscript) 1824
Folder 11 Fernando C. Putnam, “Some Considerations on the Use of Forms of Prayer in Social Worship,” (manuscript) 1849
Folder 12 Sermon Notes and Poem, 19 th Century
Folder 13 H. H. C. Bingham, “ Portsmouth and My Recollections As a Boy 75 years ago,” ca. 1948
Folder 14 St. John’s Bell, 1914
Folder 15 The Ensign, 1926-1932
Folder 16-18 Church Programs, 1871-1884, 1892-1898, 1923-1953
Folder 17A The Cornerstone Ceremony 1807, by Gerald D. Foss
Folder 19 William Pepperrell, Letter from Jonathan Belcher, 1721
Folder 20 John and Mehitable M. Blunt, Letters from George M. Marsh, 1847-1848

Box 21

Folder 1 Rev. Edward Bass, Correspondence, 1782-1785
Folder 2 Petition for the Appointment of American Bishops, ca. 1760s
Folder 3 Massachusetts Episcopal Church Meeting Votes, 1797-1798
Folder 4 New Hampshire Episcopal Church, Ecclesiastical Constitution, 1802
Folder 20 The Portsmouth Book Illustrated, n.d.
Folder 22 Print of a sketch of Queen's Chapel, n.d. 2 copies

Oversize Box 7 Folder 17 Harvard University, Order of Exercises for Commencement, Valedictory Address by Charles Burroughs, 1809

Oversize Box 7 Folder 17 Samuel Larkin, Auction Broadside, 1837

XI. Church Bulletins

Box 21

Folder 5 1871-1884

Children’s Easter Service, 1871, 1872, 1873, 1875, 1876, 1882,
“Stated Offerings at St. John’s Church,” 1879
“St. John’s Church, Lent, 1881” schedule of events
“Alleluia, Easter Afternoon, 3 P.M. 1884 at St. John’s Church”

Folder 6 1892-1898

Sunday School Easter Service, 1892, 1893, 1894, 1896, 1897, 1898
Sunday School Christmas, 1893, 1896, 1897
Carol Service (the Sunday after Christmas), 1895

Folder 7 1920s and 1930s

Folder 8 1940s and 1950s

Folder 9 1960s

Folder 10 "Saga of John C. Ogden" by Rev. Gordon Allen 1987

Folder 11 National Historic Landmark Nomination Form 1978

Folder 12 "Retoration of St. John's , Shoreline Magazine, 1951

Folder 13 Single sheets with picture of Altar Cross, 9 copies. n.d.

Box 22

Church Bulletins in Bound Volumes:

1942-1944
1944-1946
1946-1948
1948-1950
1950-1952
1952-1954
1954-1956
1956-1958
1958-1960
1960-1961
1961-1962
1962-1964
1964-1966
1966-1967
1967-1968
1968-1969
1969-1971
1971-1972
1973
1974-1976
1977-1978
1978-1979
1979-1980
1980
1981
1983
1983-1985
1986-1987
1988-1989
1989-1990
1990-1991
1992-1993
1993-1995

 

HomeAboutExhibits • CalendarNewsletterArchives